We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,775)
Filter reviews
1,777 results
Traveller rating
374
595
369
260
179
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
595
369
260
179
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crerar hotel spa treatments sauna and steam room leisure centre family room a bit tired both nights restaurant staff bed and breakfast night break food was lovely short break both mornings great weekend the main street high street relaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 1,777 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Having booked early for a Junior Suite. The room albeit a little dated was comfy. The WiFi was not good on the top floor room. The shower was extremely poor, so much so we got a discount on departure. We did not have an evening meal in the hotel. Only ate breakfast on the second morning which was chaotic to say the least. Not enough staff on to cover the guests. Breakfast cereal plates ran out quickly. The quality of the breakfast did not reflect other eateries in the town.
Location excellent with walking access to all areas of the town, including the festival theatre.
Thee spa was good and relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgemills2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Stayed over for 1 night with a friend. We had a basic twin room which was more than adequate for our needs. Clean and comfortable with helpful staff. Didn't get around to using the facilities but breakfast was amazing. Good value and excellent location. Would stay again

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Overall the hotel is pretty tired, but the room we stayed in had a good view and was an ok size. It was however very hot and the radiators were not controllable so only way to cool down was to have windows wide open, not ideal in November! The en suite was tiny and badly in need of refurbishment; very little water pressure in the shower and a noisy pump every time the loo was flushed or tap run.
However, the dinners are very good and the hot breakfast is also pretty good with a good selection to choose from. Agree with others comments about shocking coffee and juice at breakfast, and the self service system is chaotic. Did notice that some of the older guests were brought their toast and hot drinks so maybe should have just asked?
If you plan on making use of the pool and leisure facilities and can handle the less than luxurious surroundings, this is a good value break with good food and a good location (vey close to the town centre) with parking.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ruthturnbull9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We met up with friends for a two night stay at Scotland's, and we were all very disappointed with the hotel. It is very run down and very much in need of refurbishment. We paid to have breakfast (£13.95 per person) for the two days which was way over priced for what was offered. The 'orange juice' was disgusting, it looked like it was off as it was a dirty orange colour and it tasted awful. I mentioned this to a waitress and she said she would tell the kitchen, however the following morning the same juice was still there. The urns of coffee and tea were foul. There was only one toast making machine therefore always a large queue for toast. This room was also where you get your own tea/coffee. You have to bring your cup to this room and dodge the toast queue to get your cuppa then negotiate your way back through lots of people wandering about trying not to spill or scald someone with your hot drink - Health & Safety? Hardly any waiting staff on at breakfast either. We stayed in this hotel a few years when it was a much better experience. We felt that it was a much inferior service, but at an increased price. We definitely won't be back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sheena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

What a wired place!
Foreign staff
Cold communal rooms
Old & very much in desperate need of refurbishment
Toilet didn't flush, breakfast was cold, med rare steak was well done, bar man didn't want to get a coffee & tea,
Smell of drains hidden in some areas by air freshener but more obvious in others
Booked deal to include a spa treatment but very limited availability
Redevelopment or Demolition?

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews