We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful distillery”

Blair Athol Distillery
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blair Athol Distillery is one of the oldest working Distilleries in Scotland established in 1798. We are open to the public 362 days a year and are the spiritual home of Bell's. We have a range of tours and tastings available and the full list can be found by our website.
Reviewed 17 August 2018

This distillery is right on the way from Isle of Skye to Edinburgh so absolutely worth at least a photo stop if you're not into whisky. We did not take the tour here, but did do a tasting at the mash tun bar. One thing to note, they tell you they'll deduct the cost of the tasting if you buy a bottle, but they mean the full sized bottle. Great service and friendly staff.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"single malt"
in 112 reviews
"signature tour"
in 53 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 120 reviews
"great tour"
in 109 reviews
"classic malts"
in 12 reviews
"blended whisky"
in 14 reviews
"making whiskey"
in 13 reviews
"mash tun"
in 14 reviews
"wee dram"
in 31 reviews
"enjoyable tour"
in 14 reviews
"small group"
in 13 reviews
"distilling process"
in 16 reviews
"great whiskey"
in 10 reviews
"whole process"
in 12 reviews
"gift shop"
in 28 reviews
"take home"
in 15 reviews
"visiting pitlochry"
in 10 reviews
Filter

179 - 183 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

On our road trip to see Scotland we stumbled upon this distillery when we stopped to fuel up so we thought let's check it out. Our tour guide Ben was amazing. He made the tour informative, engaging, educational and at the same time fun and relaxed. Ben was extremely knowledgable about every single process in the distillery and even more so about the entire history of making whiskey in Scotland. If tou do plan to visit a distillery in Scotland and Blair Athol happens to be on your route make sure to ask for Ben as he will make you visit worth you while!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Nadj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

This was a great tour. Our guide, Anna, made it fun and very informative. Learned a lot about whisky and made me want to try some. Well worth the time.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Tom was a great tour guide. It was quite organized and detailed. I have a new appreciation for how complex the process is

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Very interesting visit, we learned a lot about whiskey making. The tour takes about 40/45 minutes and we really enjoyed the whiskey tasting at the end!

Our guide - Ben - was amazing. He was interesting and very funny, which made the visit even more enjoyable:)

I would highly recommend.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Olivia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blair Athol Distillery also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Blair Athol Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing