We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,267)
Filter reviews
1,267 results
Traveller rating
512
487
174
60
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
487
174
60
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest hotel third floor buffet breakfast crisps old building haggis superior room central location friendly hotel car park centre of town single room family room staff were excellent bit dated first class short break
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,267 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2018

Whilst the Salutation offers a bit of history as one of the oldest hotels in Scotland, it’s facilities lack a 21st century feel. The first room we stayed in lacked natural daylight but the bathroom though very small had been modernised to a decent standard. We moved to another room for some light.
We got the daylight but the interior was rather sad and needed attention. Breakfast was in a large ballroom and self service,with coffee/tea served at the table. Finding one’s way around the hotel was challenging. It has an old world feel to it.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Sightseer800711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Spent a lovely night at this hotel which is in the centre of Perth and handy for shops,great restaurants and pubs. We had a four poster bed room and the stay included an evening meal which was partial buffet style. Food at dinner and breakfast was delicious. Had great pillows too.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BAP41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thanks for taking a few minutes to drop in some positive feedback from your recent stay. So pleased you enjoyed the food at dinner and breakfast and the pillows were great too. The hotel is ideally placed for all the local attractions.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights midweek in a double room. The hotel is an old building in Perth city centre. The restaurant/breakfast room is stunning and presumably was the old ballroom. Good choice of drinks in the bar. Breakfast is a self serve buffet. Staff were very friendly. The road noise was quite loud although there is little traffic at night. There's no parking but plenty of public council carparks nearby which are free 6pm- 8am so we just paid for a couple of hours on the morning which you can do by phone. A quirky touch was that rooms who had a celebrity guest in the past had names on the door. We had frank bruno's room!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sarah894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Many thanks for taking a few minutes to drop in such a pleasant review of your recent stay. I am so pleased you found the decor, staff and choice of drinks in the bar to be spot on. We have many celebrity guests stay at the hotel and hopefully next time you may stay in another room that has had a celebrity guest.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

We stay here for every Black Watch event we have down in Perth.

The staff is always friendly and always remembers us by our wee dog that stays with us every time.

Great location to the High St, great restaurants, the river for a walk and the North Inch Park.

The breakfast buffet is always good.

The rooms can be small, but that is to be expected considering how old the hotel is. If you need a bigger room they do have them so just request it when booking to see if they can accommodate. It could be considered a little dated, but I think that adds to the charm of it and I truly appreciate it. The rooms are always clean and the service is always friendly which matters the most to me.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicurbanhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Thanks for taking the time to post in a few lines about your recent stay, I am so pleased that you find the staff friendly and remember your dog. Also pleased to read that you like our breakfast buffet. The hotel is full of charm and glad you appreciate this. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for one night.
My room was on the third floor along a maze of corridors. The room itself was spacious though it did only have a single bed. I had read about this on the website so it was expected but it’s worth checking what size bed your room has.

Plus points
1 The hotel and room were clean & tidy
2 Staff were polite and professional
3 I had a steak and desert in the bar which were both excellent

Things that would have made my stay better
1 A bigger bed. My room only had a single bed. The website does warn of this for some rooms so it’s worth checking.
2 The shower was in the bath and wasn’t very good (possibly due to being on the third floor). It wasn’t very tall and had poor pressure. Also, the folding shower door wouldn’t stay in place poor and would fold in while you were in the shower.
3 The buffet breakfast was ok but I was really disappointed there was no square sausage or potatoes cones.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank BarryChocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to jot some feedback from your recent stay. We are delighted you found the staff friendly and professional, hotel and room clean and tidy and steak and dessert excellent. We do have double rooms available to book for single occupancy and this way you can be assured of a larger bed. We actually offer three sausages at the moment - traditional butchers, gluten free pork and leek and a vegetarian sausage. However from time to time during the year we sometimes do cook Lorne sausages and we alternate between Hash Browns and Potato Scones on a daily bases. Perhaps next time you intend to stay with us we can try and arrange for Potato Scones to be on the menu.
Once again many thanks and appreciated.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews