We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,252)
Filter reviews
1,252 results
Traveller rating
506
482
172
58
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
482
172
58
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest hotel third floor buffet breakfast crisps haggis old building superior room central location friendly hotel centre of town car park single room family room waiting staff staff were excellent bit dated first class
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,252 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We loved this hotel, every creaky floorboard . The room on the 3rd floor was comfortable, lovely large bathroom which looked really expensive . Breakfast buffet style was excellent as were the evening meals , good service .The dining room has a calm and light atmosphere . The location could not have been more convenient for visiting beautiful Perth , right in the city centre with the river and gardens just around the corner . The piper statues at the front of the hotel are unusual ,just waiting to have their photograph taken . Hope we can visit this hotel again in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverbridgeSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the five stars, we are delighted that you enjoyed both the evening meals and the breakfast buffet. We are also pleased that you liked the bathroom. The hotel is indeed very convenient for all the city center attractions.
And yes hope to see you back too.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Room allocated certainly not suitable for disabled on the first night..Nearer lift on the return visit although noise of the extractor fans.
Awful food on both nights.Limp lettuce with smoked salmon Terrible cabbage and potatoes (only vegetables available No better on the return journey, Fish Pie little signs of fish or topping.

Room Tip: Worst evening meals imaginable
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us, I have replied direct to your email that was sent in via your coach holiday company. I do hope you will try the hotel again in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We had a great stay, staff very helpful smiley and welcoming, they couldn't be better, room are dated but clean and nice powerful shower, good quality food even if it felt as a 70's/80's through back. I wouldn't probably pay the full price to stay, but the place is in a beautiful location right in the centre easy access to a public car.park in the back. It would really benefit an Alex Polizzi make over. But other than the old deco and dated menu can't fault it.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Fraser T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking a minute to drop in a few lines about your recent stay, in which we are delighted that you found the staff smiley and welcoming and the bedroom clean with a nice powerful shower. The hotel certainly oozes with character and the location is ideal.
Hope we will see you back at the hotel soon, where we will have completed a little more refurbishment.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

The hotel was booked as a present for our 40th Wedding Anniversary. The room smelt of stale smoke even though the hotel is non-smoking.The hotel is dated and in need of refurbishment. The evening buffet/carvery meal in the main restaurant was very disappointing with limited choice and not value for money. The bar snack and room service menu looked far more appealing but we were on a DBB deal. The breakfast was wonderful.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Dai158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for dropping in a few lines about your recent stay, we are sorry to read that your room smelt of smoke. We woudl certainly have moved you to another room if this was logged at reception and duly investigated this right away. The carvery meal in the restaurant offers three starters, 5 main courses and three sweets, we do try and cater for everyone. I am pleased you enjoyed the breakfast.
Hope you will give the hotel another chance.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel creaks and moves with a century of hospitality - I loved it. Old fashioned lobbies with big chairs, winding carpeted corridors and old wooden oak doors, and a big traditional breakfast with tea and toast delivered to the table. Bed was comfy, windows that can open, and decent modern bathrooms. The outlook from my window was onto the inner courtyard but dinnae matter. After my last accommodation this was bliss.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank tinbrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thanks for taking a few minutes to jot down a review of your recent stay. I am so pleased you loved it and found the characteristic of the hotel a feature. The hotel is over 300 years old and boasts a unique and comfortable blend of traditional and Scottish feel. I am glad you found the bed comfy, good breakfast and tea and toast delivered to your table all to be spot on. I do hope we will see you back in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews