We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
75
23
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
23
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster beddouble room was lovelywarm breakfastbreakfast was excellentstay there againfull scottish breakfastlovely guesthouselocal amenitiesone nightmin walklovely weekendhigh streetfamily roomlocal areavisiting elgintea and coffeestayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We spent 5 nights here. Parking was on the grounds, we could walk to town in 10 minutes, and access to major roads for traveling was only 5 minutes away. The owner and the staff were cheerful and helpful. Breakfast was extensive and well prepared. The room was quite comfortable (including the bed) and had large windows overlooking the garden and grounds. We thought The Pines was excellent value at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: There is some street noise due to heavy vehicle traffic, but our second floor room had heavy drapes and the noise was not a problem.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norash562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Had two great nights here. We had a late check in on the Friday night and stayed the Saturday too. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and the room(with three beds) was spacious and comfortable. A great breakfast was included too.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank JohnboySomer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

When the 4 stars were awarded to the Pines Guest House the beds must have been new as now the mattresses are old and uncomfortable. The reviews we read mentioned friendly staff and I am afraid that the team that own the guest house are not friendly. Beware about the breakfast timings as they are 0800-0900hrs 7 days a week including weekends. Finally, we were nearly charge our full stay again as the owners had already taken our money remotely and then asked us to pay the full amount again. It was only because I questioned what the credit card receipts were attached to our bill that the transaction was cancelled. Then a German guest who was checking out at the same time was also asked to pay again as well...

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank JMP43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

I spent two nights, the welcome was warm and friendly.

Breakfast was excellent, as was the service.

The room was clean and tidy. The bed was nice and comfy, the hot weather meant it was more comfortable to lie on top of the bed. The staff were nice and friendly.

It was a good stay and I can highly recommend it.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

The room ensuite with four poster bed was luxurious and very comfortable, clean and very stylishly decorated. The breakfast was sumptuous and perfectly cooked to order. Our motorcycles could be parked safe and sound, away from the road. All in all a perfect stay, highly recommended by us, we will certainly return in the future.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews