We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Small but perfectly formed!”
other travellers have booked this property
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800 Main room - so cosy!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800
Main room - so cosy!
The view from The Bothy garden looking North
Lossiemouth West Beach - not another soul in sight!
Spring Rhododendron
Kitchenette
The bathroom
With shower
View from kitchenette into main room
The Bothy's stunning view of the Mosstowie Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
RobbieC50...
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed!”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

delightful location for peace and quiet. Close to town for shops but far enough away to be in the middle of nowhere in perfect tranquility. We only booked for a couple of nights but will definitely be back to enjoy a longer stay shortly.
Short trip to several beaches- Lossie, Findhorn or Nairn(Culben Sands) offering miles of clean open sandy beaches and clear water. Lots of fishing opportunities - both river and sea. An area steeped in history - sites all well sign posted. Culben Forest walks hold many interesting features. Hosts close at hand for any assistance required but never intrusive. Well equipped both inside and outside(BBQ and outdoor table and chairs)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay with us - we are delighted that you enjoyed it enough to consider returning and we look forward to welcoming you both back again! Thank you also for giving our future guests an idea of what is on offer locally. Hopefully see you again soon. Kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
I am always so grateful to my guests for taking the time and trouble to write a review so that future guests are able to get a 'feel' for The Bothy and I'm so pleased that you found it a peaceful haven after a busy day. I hope that the rest of your trip goes well and if you ever find yourselves in our area again, please come and see us! Kindest regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WILLYENOC...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mrs and Mr”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Loved the Bothy. So private and peaceful. Jock, our wee dog, loved the huge garden. Elgin, and especially the beach at Lossiemouth were fantastic and surrounding wee towns well worth a visit. Really managed to relax and Fiona made sure nothing spoilt that for us. Her husband even stopped cutting the grass when we came home even although we said it didn't bother us. So many lovely forest walks too. Very sad to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was lovely to meet you all. Thank you for describing it so that our future guests are able to get a 'feel' of what's on offer. I'm glad that you were sad to leave as hopefully that will mean you will be back! Thank you again for taking the trouble to write a review - very grateful. Kindest regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plockwood...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“comfortable,well equipped little cottage in the owner's quiet peaceful garden”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We felt that we had total privacy. the bothy is well equipped and charming with excellent facilities.You have a part of the garden for your own use, and a sitting out area with barbeque. Welcoming milk and biscuits. Nice that fiona gives a written assurance that she can be called on if needed.Complete peace and quiet, no noise except the breeze and birdsong.This cosy little cottage has everything you need.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
Thank you for your very kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed the peace and quiet of The Bothy. I hope that we will be welcoming you back if you are in the area in the future. Thank you again. Kindest regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmaferg
Broxburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing cottage”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Bothy is a an amazing place to stay.We loved this cottage so much so that we have booked it again in July. Our dog Buddy loved playing with his stick in the garden.
Fiona was so nice and welcoming

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
Returning guests are always the greatest recommendation of all and we are very grateful to you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you all back next month and will keep our fingers crossed for good weather so you and Buddy can enjoy the garden once again! Kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing