We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous wee place, small but perfectly formed”
other travellers have booked this property
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800 Main room - so cosy!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800
Main room - so cosy!
The view from The Bothy garden looking North
Lossiemouth West Beach - not another soul in sight!
Spring Rhododendron
Kitchenette
The bathroom
With shower
View from kitchenette into main room
The Bothy's stunning view of the Mosstowie Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jacquelin...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous wee place, small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Fiona was there to greet us on arrival, told us the basics and left us to it, you'd never know you were at the bottom of their garden. The Bothy is small but fully functional, surroundings are beautiful and so peaceful. From the barbecue and patio furniture to the compact but effective kitchenette you have everything you need. The bed was one of the comfiest we've ever slept on away from home too. Dogs had a great time too...though Beau was intrigued by chickens! All in all a great weekend. Would highly recommend. Hope to see you again, same time next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a lovely a review for our future guests to see. We are thrilled that you all had a good time in The Bothy! Kindest regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K C
1 review
“'A tranquil and private haven'”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Perfect for a getaway. Lots of privacy. Dog loved it. We loved it. Lots of beaches and trout fisheries locally of high standard. It's accessability to all local amenities and main routes makes it a very attractive base for touring the area - Moray is fantastic for sea-life. This is second time of visiting and certainly will come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
So lovely of you to write a review - the trout was fabulous, thank you! There is no better recommendation than returning guests and I hope we will be welcoming you again. Kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 May 2017
As visiting this area is a fairly regular date in your diary, I am really hoping that you will stay with us again - it was lovely to meet you and I am always so grateful to my guests for taking the trouble to write a review. I'm thrilled to hear that The Bothy was 'just what you needed' - we look forward to welcoming you for a longer stay next time! Kindest regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 May 2017
I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in The Bothy albeit a very short one! It is lovely that despite only staying for one night you have taken the time to write a review for any future guests to read as I know that they find it very helpful to hear other guests views. Thank you again and I hope we may see you again the future. Kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lumberjac...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little gem”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this quirky place due to reviews and was not disappointed at all Fiona the owner was amazing .cant say I need to write anymore the reviews says it all amazing

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
We were so delighted to see you both making the most of the garden and we are looking forward to welcoming you both back next year for a longer stay! Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review - very grateful. Kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing