We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Break”
other travellers have booked this property
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800 Main room - so cosy!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800
Main room - so cosy!
The view from The Bothy garden looking North
Lossiemouth West Beach - not another soul in sight!
Spring Rhododendron
Kitchenette
The bathroom
With shower
View from kitchenette into main room
The Bothy's stunning view of the Mosstowie Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
flyingdow...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just spent a relaxing weekend at this lovely little bothy. The family were warm, friendly and welcoming. The bothy is cosy, comfortable, well laid out and clean. It is well located for visiting the Moray coast and we were lucky enough to see a pod of dolphins, seals, a minke whale, an otter and a great skua at Spey Bay.
I recommend this lovely property it is excellent value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness and cosiness.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. We are so glad that you saw what you came for and more! The best review for us is that you had such a lovely time that you would recommend us to family and friends. We look forward to welcoming you both back when you are next in the area. Kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRachu...
Bangor Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and relaxing”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

So nice we even stayed an extra night. Everything you could ask for, fire lighters for the BBQ and sharp kitchen knives. Will be back sometime and have no heart actions in recommending to anyone. Thanks Fiona.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2015
The best review I can ask for is that you will recommend The Bothy and that you will be back - thank you! It was lovely to meet you all and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We'll look forward very much to welcoming you back! With kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill N
1 review
“A warm welcome and a tranquil location.”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A beautiful place for a little escape. Thank you so much Fiona for extending a warm welcome to us. Our stay at The Bothy was one of the most relaxing breaks we have ever had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2015
I'm so grateful to you for taking the time to write a review. I am always delighted to hear that my guests have had a happy time in The Bothy. It was lovely to meet you both, thank you for choosing to stay with us! Kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely peaceful cottage, well equipped and very clean”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

fitted the bill perfectly for us. we were busy during the day and it was lovely to come back to somewhere warm , clean and peaceful. it had everything we needed and we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: convenience
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2015
Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review. We are delighted that it was just what you were looking for and the fact that you will be back is the loveliest review of all! We look forward very much to welcoming you back to The Bothy. With kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwm316
Angus, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent relaxing location”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The Bothy is a hidden gem and host Fiona was very welcoming and provided us with little extras of milk, tea ,coffee and cookies,this was most appreciated. Fiona also welcomed our two dogs ! which was very kind as we had failed to give her prior warning. The location is excellent for enjoying nearby woodland walks and within easy reach of Findhorn Bay. It is also only a short distance from Elgin where we enjoyed an excellent meal at Toscana,s Italian Restaurant. We would definitely recommend this holiday rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Bothy enough to recommend us. It's great to hear that you were out & about enjoying the area-we really enjoy Toscana too!I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing