We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800 Main room - so cosy!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800
Main room - so cosy!
The view from The Bothy garden looking North
Lossiemouth West Beach - not another soul in sight!
Spring Rhododendron
Kitchenette
The bathroom
With shower
View from kitchenette into main room
The Bothy's stunning view of the Mosstowie Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
pon4273
Alloa, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a getaway”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Excellent location. Peaceful, private, warm and clean. Just what we wanted. Good size for a base to explore the surrounding areas. Everything you need has been provided. Helpful and accommodating hosts. Have recommended to family and friends already. Brilliant!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2014
It was so lovely to meet you, thank you for recommending us to friends & family. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor F
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bothy in a peaceful setting”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We spent a perfect 2 day break in this wonderfully cosy, light Bothy. It was great and had just what we needed. The main room is beautifully appointed with 2 armchairs and an extremely comfortable double bed. It's in a lovely tranquil setting and their are no distractions or noise. The owners are super, very friendly and knowledgable about the local area. It's close to the nearby town of a Elgin and the many local beaches at Hopetoun and Rose Isle which are great for walking. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to hopefully seeing you again very soon. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgBoy1972
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect idyllic location and homely accommodation”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Lovely cosy little cottage nicely appointed inside with stunning views. Ideal base for exploring this beautiful part of Scotland . Charming and fun hosts who can offer advice on local walks etc. They are always available for anything you might need. Inverness airport with car hire not too far away so easy for short or long break. Place is so relaxing, highly recommended

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frau Chri...
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago for a stay in September 2018
NEW
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen J
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Freunden
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. I'm only sorry that due to family circumstances we were unable to meet you both. It would be lovely if you are ever in Elgin again, you were to consider staying with us once more. With kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing