We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Chelona a peaceful gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chelona

Chelona
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chelona
Kitchen Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Chelona
Kitchen
Living room
Dining room
Master Bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Garden
Rear view of cottage
Dolphin Centre in Spey Bay
Dolphins in Moray Firth
Chelona
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mansonnic...
Fife, United Kingdom
1 review
“Chelona a peaceful gem”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Asa family we love staying in the chelona this was our fourth stay.It is perfect the cottage and has everything you desire and more . I would really recommend it to anyone, our puppy Ruby loves it to especially the wood burning stove ,Ian the owner has been very helpful and communication has been great when we've booked ,I only wish when we stay we could stay there forever that's how perfect it is, can't wait till we return thanks Ian you make visiting family alot easier by staying in your peaceful gem

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Very many thanks Ian for your very nice review. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenWell...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An idyllic cottage for the perfect break!”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

From ease of booking, clear and prompt communication with the owner, to the stay itself, we had a wonderfully peaceful break at Chelona Cottage.
The cottage is incredibly well equipped, clean and comfortable. The owner has thought of everything; including plenty of brochures and information about local amenities and places of interest. Decorated to a very high standard, the cottage provides a luxurious break in a beautiful part of Scotland. The cottage is warm and cosy; the wood burning stove a must at the end of a long walk along the nearby coastline.
With open land (a disused airfield and farm land) opposite the cottage, plus a large garden, this is an ideal choice for those with dogs. The only thing we could think of to improve the property (in view of dogs - and we'd assume for families with young children) would be to have a gate at the shortest part of the driveway to make the garden even more secure.
We would definitely recommend Chelona to others and hope to return in the springtime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean well equipped cottaage; good heating; high standard of decoration
Liked least: perhaps needs a gate on narrowest part of driveway; a bit far from shops & restaurants but we knew we'd need a car
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Many thanks for your review. Have been thinking about putting a gate across the driveway and a fence along the driveway also.
Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Rosem...
1 review
“Beautifully presented cottage in a great walking location”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Chelona is a lovely holiday rental cottage, very clean and kitted out with everything required to make a holiday great. Spey Bay with it's dolphin centre is minutes up the road, there is an abandoned WW2 airfield opposite, perfect for dog walking, and there are numerous local sights within easy reach. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location, great walks.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenny684
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a great stay, the large garden a real hit for family and our Spaniel!”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We enjoyed this rental property we were fortunate to get good weather to take advantage of the excellent beaches in the area. The house was well equipped and fitted almost all our needs. Only thing would have been a door between the kitchen and living space or a door between the living space and hall to keep our dog contained where we wanted her! Otherwise all worked well especially the BBQ area which we used three times in our week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Not enough doors!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doreen017...
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Somewhere I will be renting again”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I booked this cottage for my brother and his partner and am writing a review on their behalf' Chelona is a wonderful cottage set in a lovely area with so many places of interest on your doorstep.
The cottage was immaculate and was well equipped. I will definitely return for another visit.
A big thankyou to Ian the owner of the cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and comfort
Liked least: Liked everything
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing