We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Stay in this lovely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Chelona
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chelona
Hot tub Hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Chelona
Hot tub
Hot tub
Hot tub
Kitchen
Living room
Dinning room
Master Bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Dolphin Centre in Spey Bay
Dolphins in Moray Firth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lucy B
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay in this lovely cottage”
Reviewed 6 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We had a lovely stay in this cottage. The owner was very helpful. The cottage was very comfortable, the welcome pack was a surprise but much appreciated. A lovely place to relax and recharge batteries. Ideal location for touring this stunning part of Scotland. Lots to do, wildlife in abundance, whisky distilleries, quaint shops and excellent icecream parlour in Fochabers only just up the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location to Spey Bay
Liked least: The garden looks like work in progress. Caravan needs removing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chakns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Fantastic Cottage, Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I've used the word fantastic three times in the title for good reason. We had a wonderful stay at this cottage. We arrived late on a Friday evening and dumped our things and explored the Cottage, it is a lovely old quaint cottage with brilliant modern facilities inside. It looks like your classic cottage from the outside right down to the gnomes in the garden, inside it is warm, comfortable and stocked with everything you require: flatscreen TV, dishwasher, great kitchen, clean and modern bathroom, two bedrooms with fresh and comfortable linen. The owner, Ian was very kind and left us some food in the freezer along with some milk and a bottle of wine, this is above and beyond what we expected and it really shows just how much effort the owners have put into making their cottage a welcome place to stay. All in all the cottage was great and the location was perfect as a base of operations to explore the area: the dolphine centre at Spey bay is 2 minutes up the road and it is easy to drive to Fochabbers, Buckie and other places for food. We went to a delicious Tandoori place in Buckie on the first evening (Bengal Brasserie) and would recommend this to anyone looking for an affordable place to eat nearby.

If we holiday in the area again we will certainly try to stay at Chelona! Thanks for a great weekend break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wifi, Television, Location, Welcome items for our arrival
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel_Ba...
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning Place & Amazing Holiday Home”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My partner, 5 year old son and I arrived late on Sunday evening and were met by the owner Ian who was very helpful and welcoming. Ian showed us around the cottage and told us how to work everything and had also got some food supplies in for us as we were arriving late. The cottage is stunning inside and although it may have recently been refurbished still has that Scottish Cottage feel. The rooms are very big and the wood burner in the living room really gives that cosy feeling which every cottage should have. The garden is huge and would be very good in the summer for BBQ's etc. The cottage really has everything you would need and we really couldn't have asked for more. The location is great very peaceful, quiet. A ten minute walk from Spey Bay where the Dolphin centre is a must to visit if staying here. We visited most of the coastline towns during our stay and some of the scenery is breath-taking to say the least. Elgin is about a 15 minute drive and the closest 'City' where you can find plenty to do for the kids go-Karting, Soft Play and Parks. Fochabers is the nearest town and is also a very nice little place to visit as is the Macduff marine centre. There are plent of parks etc around the coast we particuarly enjoyed our morning walk at Findhorn Beach. I really would highly recommend this pace to anyone wishing to explore this particular part of Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage was fantastic & great value for money
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassellsC...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very homely and comfortable”
Reviewed 2 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived on the Monday and met the owner Ian at the cottage, Ian showed us around the property which was a gorgeous cottage with log fire and wooden beams on the roof, very homely, warm, comfortable, cleaned to a very high standard, had everything you need for a get away. We stayed till the Friday. Had a very relaxing and comfortable break. We visited Spey Bay although the visitor centre was closed for the winter we still had a lovely walk along the beach, also visited Elgin, Lossiemouth, Keith and other surrounding areas. We will definitely be going back later in the year. Highly recommended to anyone. Best Self catering accommodation we have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine G
Lindsay, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
Google Translation

Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing