We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well-equipped cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Lodge

Character cottage surrounded by beautiful countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Character cottage surrounded by beautiful countryside
The Lodge at the gates of Duffus House Cosy sitting room with beautiful open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Character cottage surrounded by beautiful countryside
The Lodge at the gates of Duffus House
Cosy sitting room with beautiful open fire
Serene master bedroom
Bright single bedroom
Well equipped kitchen
Bathroom
Lawn at side of property
Large enclosed garden ideal for BBQs and relaxing with a glass of wine on a summer's evening
Spacious garden surrounded by woodland and fields
Iconic Lossiemouth beach just 5 miles away
Colourful beach huts at Hopeman beach
Railway path at Cummingston - leads from Burghead to Lossiemouth - fantastic clifftop walk!
Tranquil Findhorn bay in historic village
Sunset at Duffus Castle - just 5 minutes from The Lodge
Eglin Cathedral from the Cooper Park, Elgin
View of Clasach cove
Iconic bridge to beach at Lossiemouth
Hopeman Harbour
Having a bale of a time!
Lossiemouth Golf Course
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chrissy18...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well-equipped cottage”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Quiet country location for peaceful relaxing holiday. Cottage equipped with everything you could possibly need. Friendly, helpful owner provides welcome food pack at start of holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet A
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Very nice cottage in lovely farming area and a short walk to Duffus village Inn and shop. Found it unusual to get a message 2 days before arrival to bring own toilet paper, dishwasher tabs and laundry soap as we were traveling from out of country.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us review. We do send out an email to all guests shortly before their arrival confirming directions, key collection and other information about the property. We do have a section where we clarify that we provide all bed linen, towels and tea towels but that guests must bring their own food, drink and other items such as toilet roll, dishwasher tablets and washing powder. This is to ensure that our guests are aware of exactly what is and isn't provided in the property so they can pack accordingly. We always ensure however that there are toilet rolls and dish washer tablets for the first few days of our guests stay. I shall look at rewording this section to avoid any future misunderstandings and thank you for raising this issue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances S
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable,tasteful, cozy cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The Lodge and the surrounding village provided a comfortable, and interesting few days within a longer trip. The little house is sweet, fully equipped, cozy....The adjectives don't do it justice. Well located for any number of activities; Whiskey sampling, trail walking, castle-visiting, beach, golf; i could go on and on. If I lived closer, I would be back often (I am in Quebec) - All other lodgings came up short in comparison - as it is, I would send all and any of my friends to Duffus Lodge anytime!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm92
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent property, beautiful surroundings, very peaceful evenings.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Our first visit to the area and definitely not our last. The Lodge is ideally situated for visiting the many beautiful beaches (Roseisle beach definitely worth a visit). The accommodation at the Lodge is excellent, overall a very welcoming and homely atmosphere. The basket of local produce was much appreciated.

The guides to local attractions was most useful and the assistance provided by Caroline and Ed invaluable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accomodation and peaceful surroundings
Liked least: Driving out of the property on to a fast road (60mph limit). Although the mirror opposite the entrance helped somewhat.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGL2013
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideally located cottage for touring the area and access to main towns”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Character cottage with everything necessary for a relaxing break including wifi for great access to the internet. The owner was very helpful in all matters relating to this booking and provided a welcome pack of groceries. A footpath to the village is a recent useful addition.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, character building and all inclusive price
Liked least: Tricky access to main road, although mirror is provided to assist
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing