We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Angely

Open plan lounge with doors to decking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan lounge with doors to decking.
Kitchen looking on to dining area. Dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
Open plan lounge with doors to decking.
Kitchen looking on to dining area.
Dining area.
Kitchen through to utility room
Plasma and surround sound
Bedroom 1 with en suite and patio doors to decking.
Dining area looking out to outdoor eating area.
3rd Bedroom with double and single bunk.
Lounge and decking from communal grassy area.
Lounge through to dining.
Bedroom 2
View down valley from front decking
Blackwaterfoot beach 10 min walk.
Beach at sunset.
Beach and golf course
View of valley from rear decking
Top of 'The Saddle' looking back to 'Goatfell'
White Xmas valley from decking.
White Xmas 2005
View from 4th hole on golf course to Kintyre
View of beach from golf clubhouse
Drumadoon from golf course
White Xmas 2005
Glorious night sky!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
GlobeTrot...
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very UNCLEAN lodge with a very dishonest untrustworthy Owner. still has not returned deposit”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

PLEASE AVOID THIS OWNER.

Please read this before you book this lodge.

We are still waiting for him to return our deposit after 5 weeks

Before we even arrived at the lodge the owner text us and asked that we did NOT use the back bedroom as it had been cleaned for the people coming to used the lodge after us.

When we did arrive at the lodge you could tell immediately that it had not been cleaned and on further inspection looks like in a long time.

The all the floors throughout the lodge had NOT even been swept never mind washed with the amount of dirt on them.

The side units, window ledges, tv unit, dining table, bedroom units, mirrors, flowers and all ornaments were all covered in dust and I don't mean a little I mean thick with dust.

The kitchen was not cleaned at all. Fridge was dirty inside, work tops were full of crumbs and dried in food, cooker, cooker hood, toaster, kettle were all dirty and not clean at all. There was half a pot of old coffee left in the cafetière.

The kitchen cupboard doors and all main doors were dirty and have not been cleaned in a long time.

The toothbrush holder in the bathroom had old slimy gooey stuff at the bottom of it

The towels were old whited out white, hard and full of holes.

We spent over two and a half hours cleaning the lodge when we arrived before we could start cooking in the kitchen and clean and dust the rest of the lodge to get rid of the dirt and the dust.

When we called the owner to complain at the state of the lodge he was only interested in whether the beds had clean sheets or not. Thankfully they did in the two double bedrooms however the children's bulk bedroom was not it was just bare mattresses on the bed.

On the day we were leaving the owner say there was an issue with the cleaner. She did not clean the lodge for our arrival she only managed to change the two beds. He said because of this he would deposit an extra £50 into our account when he returns our £100.00 deposit.

That was 5 weeks ago and after several texts and phone calls (most of which have not been answered or replied to). We are still waiting for our deposit to be returned to us.

Tonight (tues 18 Oct 2016) the owner text us to say " I send £100.00 as after your stay all bedding and towels had been used which suggests more that two people stayed at the property"

My partner and I stayed at this lodge from Wednesday 14 - Saturday 17 Sept 2017. My mother, father and 1 yrs old niece came over on Thursday night and stayed till Saturday.

That is a total of 4 Adults and a baby (that brought her own cot, cover and towels).

The website state the prices for this lodge are based on 4 Adults!!!!!!!!

And it states it's a 3 bed lodge. There is Nothing about not being able to use any of the rooms because they were cleaned and all ready for the next guests !!!!!

Please Beware of this owner please. We are still waiting for our £100.00 deposit plus £50 he promised due to cleanliness of the lodge before our arrival.

We left that lodge spotless. Hence why the review from people at 17 Sept 2016 found the lodge so be so clean.

I have attached photos to show just how much dust there was.

What was supposed to be a relaxing break turned into the complete opposite.

I cannot come up with one positive to write about our experience. Both with the lodge itself and with the way we have been treated by the owner.

As I have stated. Please beware the owner. It stated in the paperwork he sent us that we would receive deposit back on 29 September 2016. It's 18 October 2016 and still NOTHING.

Very dirty and dusty lodge. With a very dishonest untrustworthy owner.

We would NOT recommend anyone to stay here or do business never mind any money to this owner. I will be telling Everyone to stay well clear of this property and owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing at all
Liked least: The owner. The cleanliness or lack of it !!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2016
We have rented the property for 4 years never had issues with cleanliness and this is the 1st review of this nature we have ever had. Was booked for 2 people but more stayed. Deposit returned.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamDuff
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We (4 adults and 1 child) stayed in Angeley lodge 17-19 September. What a fantastic lodge this is in a wonderful location! The beds are very comfortable and the power showers fab! It really is a great space to relax and socialise in and the decking around the property is super! We had some good weather and it was beautiful sitting on the decking and watching the wildlife (rabbits/red squirrel), so tranquil. Allan, the owner is very attentive and helpful and answers any queries quickly, the communication was excellent. I would highly recommend this lodge!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveTrave...
1 review
“A great place to stay for a week with the family on Arran”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Angely lodge was perfect for our week on Arran with the family. The lodge was comfortable and the kitchen well equipped for cooking evening meals - with a little help from the Arran butcher in Blackwaterfoot. And the red squirrels were very cute. It was also a great location for getting around the island and only a 20 min drive to Brodick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable living room and great cooking facilities
Liked least: Quite a lot of ornaments
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic family holiday on a beautiful island!”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely short break in Arran which was made all the more special by the wonderful accommodation. The lodge was family friendly with a great living space which allowed us to cook, eat and relax together....perfect!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaKri...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing family stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here in 2014 as a get away with our 1 year old and decided to go back again this year for a relaxing break. The lodge itself is kept to a high standard with all the mod cons (wifi, sky tv). Home from home, all that you need. The views are fantastic and it is very peaceful in the evening, watching the rabbits and wildlife in the gardens.
We are planning to visit again either later this year or early 2017 as a getaway from Glasgow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, views and the lodge.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing