We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I keep returning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cawdor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cawdor House
Ranked #2 of 38 Nairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I keep returning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

I have stayed at Cawdor House about 10 times now. I would stop nowhere else in Nairn and I have tried a few over the years.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolthardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
53
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hueneme, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

I absolutely loved my stay at Cawdor House. Paul and Mairi were wonderful hosts. I believe I had bedroom #2 and it was just so cozy. I tried black pudding for the first time with one of Mairi's delicious dinners and I liked it very much. The food was great and so was the company of the other guests. This was my first trip to Scotland and my stay at Cawdor House made this vacation an experience I will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

After driving to Nairn from Edinburgh through the remnants of Hurricane Katia, we were greeted warmly by Mairi and Paul. The Cawdor House proved to be an excellent location for exploring the area around the Moray Firth without actually being in a larger city. The rooms are comfortably furnished and very clean. Paul is a wealth of knowledge about the local area and by our third day, we could actually understand almost everything he told us in his fine Scottish brogue! Marie turns out some amazing breakfasts that are included in the package.

Nairn is easily walkable from the Cawdor House and there is an excellent restaurant, the Classroom, just a few steps away. Another dining recommendation would be the Sunny Brae Hotel, overlooking the sea.

We were there for three nights in September and used the Cawdor House to explore the coast, visit a distillery or two, see Cawdor Castle, and tour the Culloden battlefield. Wish we could have stayed longer!

My only negative is that I was never able to get onto the wireless Internet. But, guess what... being 'unconnected' for those three days really didn't make any difference.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartbrowndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

It would be impossible to find a more charming and hospitable B&B. My accommodation was welcoming and comfortable, not to mention that Paul and Mairi Banks are devoted to keeping Cawdor House impeccably clean. The meals were fantastic and a great way to experience local Scottish cuisine. I look forward to returning to Cawdor House one day as it will feel like I am coming home. Many thanks to Paul and Mairi for making it such a special place. Nadine Sheppard.

Room Tip: My room was on the top floor but I am positive every room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I have had the pleasure of staying at Cawdor House in Nairn a number of times and have never been disappointed. The bedrooms, which are spacious and quiet have always been spotless with some of the most comfortable beds I have stayed in. The breakfasts are huge with lovely fresh local produce. The owners, Mairi and Paul Banks, have created a lovely place to stay which I would recommend to anyone for business or pleasure.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.9 km away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.6 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
18.8 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.8 km away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cawdor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cawdor House

Property: Cawdor House
Address: 7 Cawdor Street, Nairn IV12 4QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price range (per night): $121 - $186
Hotel Class:4 star — Cawdor House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the town center of Nairn, and within easy walking distance of the beach, Cawdor House is an elegant Victorian Manse, lovingly restored to it's former glory. It is an ideal location for exploring the Highlands, with excellent communications. Enjoy a cup of tea and home-baking by the fire when you arrive, and a fantastic highland breakfast to set you up for a day admiring the beautiful scenery and history, golf, fishing, riding- just a few activities to be found close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cawdor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cawdor House Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing