We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Should keep it a secret.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pinewood

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
franzmuel...
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Should keep it a secret.”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We should keep it a secret, but Ian and Anita the marvelous people who run that place deserve better.
"Pinewood" is a house which provides you with four bed rooms,a spacious kitchen ,dining room, two bathrooms, and a snug sitting room, with a fire place.
Its an excellent base for exploring a large part of the highlands,but if you are just looking for some piece and quiet this is the right place to go as well. The Caledonian Canal runs nearby, but appears like a small lake here. And best of all you can bring your dog with you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinytini7...
Salzburg, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I could stay here forever”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It's been my 5th visit and I hope there are many more to come.
Pinewood is the perfect location for your holiday - it's a very spacious and comfortable house with stunning views to Ben Nevis and the Caledonian Canal/Loch Lochy and the perfect base for exploring the Highlands. After our trips in all four directions we could relax and enjoy the evenings in front of the fireplace or take a walk to the nearby Pepper Pot Lighthouse.
Anita and Iain (the owners) are very kind and I'm already looking forward to see them and beautiful Pinewood again next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
It was lovely to see you again and am already looking forward to your return next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentF...
1 review
“A really good place to stay.”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely house, very spacious, comfy beds and a huge well equipped kitchen with everything you will need down to the ice cream scoop. Lovely position overlooking the Caledonian Canal with the ever changing mountains in the distance. It proved to be the ideal base for exploring the region. The owners are very friendly and helpful, we had two small problems which were quickly and pleasantly resolved. Would stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so pleased everything was to your families satisfaction. It was lovely to meet you and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterkell...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely property in stunning location”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

a well looked after building,warm and comfortable,set in a wonderful location with the loch only yards from the front door and over looking the best view of the Ben Nevis range in the Highlands.Friendly owners,nothing ever to much trouble.A brilliant holiday all round.See you next year.cant wait.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamandIan...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Filthy property with great views”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for peaceful setting and truly stunning views then Pinewood cottage has it all but sadly it fails to live up to anything else. The biggest issue is that the entire place is just dirty. On initial arrival it was not immediately obvious how dirty as the owners appear to have done a ‘basic’ clean – vacuuming and tidying. However, it didn’t take long for the issues to show up.

There are dirty old cobwebs in most rooms with the upstairs bathroom being one of the worst. This room was the worst overall. The bath was littered with human hairs and bath mat looked like it had never seen a washing machine. The wood panelling in the bathroom had a layer of filth across the entire top lip, while the sink was dirty in the soap wells……don’t get my started on the toilet or the bin.

The downstairs bathroom, while a little cleaner was covered in dust on the window sill. However the two biggest issues in here were the shower, which had such low water pressure that it was barely a drizzle. Almost impossible to have a decent shower in there. Also just above the shower, one of the spotlights is broken and hanging out. This is a major electrocution issue. Thankfully we visited in spring so could manage to shower without the need for putting on a light.

In the kitchen, there were crumbs left over from previous guests in the fridge and bread bin and the kitchen table top had coffee stains on it and other dirty marks. The table top in the dining room was similarly dirty. We found we had to wash a number of plates, cups, glasses, cutlery and pans before even using them as they were not clean – we also had to clean the filter in the dishwasher which was full of bits of food from god only knows when! The fridge also had an unpleasant odour.

In the living room, there is an open fire, which on arrival we found to be full of ash from the previous guests. The owners had not bothered to clean it. We never used it.

When we arrived there was no sight of any towels, but we eventually found them in the airing cupboard. However, like everything in the house, these were far from ideal. They were crispy and had an odd odour. Thankfully the cottage does have a washing machine and tumble dryer and we’d come prepared with detergents so I washed these before we even used them.

My husband found many maintenance issues too but we’ll not go into all those – just to say that don’t come expecting a perfect property – there are holes in walls, plaster falling off, smoke alarms hanging down and lights with bulbs that don’t work and no replacements.

We’ve stayed in many cottages over the years so have come to know what you can expect to have on arrival. This cottage sorely lacked. We had to go back out into Fort William (a 26 mile round trip) to buy washing up liquid, cleaning cloths for washing up, toilet rolls and hand soap for the bathrooms as none of these were provided – there was just one toilet roll in a house that sleeps 8! The property also claims to have a barbecue for guests use. There is not one there, so again we had to purchase one of these.

Outside of the cottage, care needs to be taken as there is a huge hole been dug outside the kitchen. It’s not fenced off so could be dangerous for children or pets. There is also a dirty t-shirt just sitting there too. The grass is not cut either so looks long and untidy.

Somehow this cottage has been graded four star and it’s not worthy of it. It's a property in an amazing setting and with huge potential and it’s so disappointing to see the total lack of care and attention to detail.

Finally we were rather amused to read a note from the owners asking for the property to be left as we found it…..dirty then??? Also, they ask for guests to bag up and put all the rubbish out yet they fail to supply bin liners!

All in all this is the worst property we’ve ever stayed in and we’d definitely not recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Response on behalf of the owner. Thank you for your feedback. Shortly after the guest stay we were inspected by the regional manager and no issues were highlighted and we maintained our four star rating in accordance with the Visit Britain guideline. Any issues highlighted by the guests were minor and were corrected very quickly. If the guest had contacted us at the time we would have immediately put cleaners back in. Instead these guests appeared total relaxed sat outside Pinewood drinking wine, smiling and waving when I passed. She then advised by email to us after her stay she did not want to make any fuss because her husband and herself were enjoying a relaxing holiday so she waited until she went home thus not giving us the opportunity to put things right. We are therefore naturally very disappointed with this score as the comfort of our guests is of paramount importance to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing