We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
113
212
195
69
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
212
195
69
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalls are thintown centreloch viewlovely viewone night staydining roomshort stayample parkinglovely breakfastfollowing morninggood nights sleepfull scottish breakfastcouple of nightscomfortable roomben nevisstopoverensuite
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

PROS Beautiful hotel facing the loch close to the town centre. Excellent very helpful staff. On reception the guy helped us a lot with information about the train and the bar lady is very pleasant. We lived in the room 154 which was recently renovated (but it faces the back, not the loch). Delicious food in the restaurant where we had a meal on the first night.

CONS The price was quite expensive for the Easter weekend but this was predictable)
The mirror in our bathroom was so high, we couldn't use it - strange position. But luckily our room was provided with a small mirror which helped a lot as my wife does makeup every day)
The walls are very thin and we could hear everything in the next room
The breakfast was quite modest (£11 for non-residents). It was the first hotel ( and we do travel a lot) which didn't offer any cheese for a breakfast

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cash-tanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Spent one night here just renovated , can here people next room talking no sound proofing . Had to phone reception at 3oclock am to ask drunk neighbours to be quick.
Reception phoned them could hear the conversation, then spent 1hour with drunk pacing up and down corridor, his girlfriend begging him to come back and leave us alone.
Next morning nothing was said by management, I did contact them on their comments page and have no reply .
Very poor customer service will never go back

Room Tip: Could not recommend a room. Room rating 1
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Nice hotel with excellent food and perfect for local activities at fort William. We stayed for 2 nights and were very comfortable with the location being perfect for skiing in the local areas at glencoe and Nevis range

Room Tip: A great view over the loch
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Joan-Craigmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

We arrived late on into the evening at around 8 o'clock to find no carparking spaces available. We ended up squeezing our car into the middle of the forecourt just like another resident. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who checked us in and pointed us in the direction of our room. We had to walk with our luggage through a busy dining area with families gauping at us.
The room was freezing when we entered. It had a small wall mounted convection heater that was switched off, surely this could of been turned on due to the room being booked? The bedroom was a little dated, however the bathroom was lovely and modern with nice fixtures. The toilet had a sanitary strip across the seat to show it had been cleaned.... however on opening there was something that greeted us!
We sat in the bar for a quick dinner and the bar was full of foreign guests who were downright rude and kept staring and turning their noses up! Kids were running wild throughout. In the morning I was in a meeting and hadn't purposely checked out of my room so I could go back and get changed within the time limit to checkout. Whilst getting ready the cleaner must've knocked on the door 3 times to be told we were still busy and on the final knock she just came straight in without waiting.
Downright rude cleaners!
Check out was fine and the receptionist was lovely. Wi-Fi coverage not fantastic and goes on and off regularly. Would I stay here again? No never again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank JKC969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

This place is great. It doesn’t try and pretend to be something it’s not. It’s cosy, clean and the staff are all hard working, polite and professional.
Our stay was made particularly special by the lovely service of Natalija in the bar at evening meal times. She was so friendly and made our daughter feel very welcome.
Well done!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staycruachanhotel, Public Relations Manager at Cruachan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Rob J,

Thank you for taking your time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided by the Cruachan team was to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Best Regards,
Fahad Shaikh
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews