We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic stay, wasn't long enough”
Mill Cottage Fort William
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Cottage Fort William
Balcony overlooking Loch River views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
48 reviews
Mill Cottage Fort William
Balcony overlooking Loch
River views
Lounge
Kitchen
Dining Room
First Floor Shower Room & WC
Hallway (with Daffy)
Twin Debroom
Master Bedroom
Balcony
Glencoe
Winter Snow
River at Mill Cottage
Ben Nevis
Sunset at Mill Cottage
Autumn evening view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Thomas D
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic stay, wasn't long enough”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

just returned from a 3 night stay, we all agreed it wasnt long enough but it was all we could manage around a large working group. The cottage was perfect it had everything we needed and location was spot on for walks and scenery however like much of scotland it was quite remote, make sure you buy bbq food before 10 as nothing is open after that. as a whole the holiday although short was amazing and already talking about going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
Hi Guys, we are so pleased you all had a great time and enjoyed your stay at Mill Cottage. We'd love to have you all back if you decide to return to the Fort William area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Potential, But Cottage Badly Neglected!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Every year our family spends this week in a cottage in this area, watching the local SSDT event. Normally the cottages we stay in are pleasant, and have that holiday feel, however this was a change from the norm.

On arrival it quickly became apparent that the cottage had been suffering from a lack of basic maintenance for some time: All smoke alarms broken, cooker largely inoperable, garden overgrown, radiators scalding, aging decor, and lacking basic cleanliness throughout. We proceeded with our weeks stay as planned, however standards were so far below what we had paid for that we contacted the owner halfway through our stay. He did send his maintenance man round the next day, who fixed a few things, gave the windows their first clean in some considerable time, but little else.

In an attempt to reach a compromising middle ground we suggested some sort of partial refund. This was refused, and some vouchers were promised instead. However 3 weeks on, and these have also failed to materialize.

We are genuinely disappointed, as this is a large property, and its great location gives it massive potential. However until such time as it is afforded some basic cleaning & maintenance, it does no represent value for money in holiday rental market.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you felt the cottage was neglected and the windows were dirty. As a result of your complaint I will increase the frequency of visits by the window cleaner and hope we get some cleaner rain in the future. You should, by now, have received the £50 of vouchers posted to you by recorded delivery.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midenians...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is huge and very comfortable. Pleasant walks all around. My friends and I traveled via public transport and had no problem finding the cottage or getting to and from Fort William. Our only slight complaint was that it was very difficult to warm the house up, but we wrapped up in extra duvets and were comfortable enough we didn't feel the need to contact the owners. Otherwise, everything was great and we thoroughly enjoyed the stay!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2014
Hi Alyssa,

Glad you got home ok. Just wanted to thank you for taking the time in posting a review. I so wish you had given me a call about the heating. We would have had you all toastie in no time.

Unlike many self catering properties we leave the control of the heating to our guests and I appreciate that sometimes getting the temperature balance is sometimes difficult this time of year.

We are glad you were all comfortable enough in the end. Please do let me know though in future though - I'm here to help.

Have a lovely summer

Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Feb 2014
Dear Sorelle,

We are so pleased you all had a wonderful time at our place and thank you so much for taking the time to place your review. We look forward to accommodating you all again.

Please pass on my regards to Dominic and your family.

Warm regards

Pete & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing