We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage in a beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Coille Diobhain

Recently extended (2013) - new living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Recently extended (2013) - new living room
Cottage with recent extension Living room (new L-shaped sofa now installed)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Recently extended (2013) - new living room
Cottage with recent extension
Living room (new L-shaped sofa now installed)
Wood-burning stove and entertainment system
Dining Room with old Rayburn, leading to living room
Downstairs Double Bedroom
Kitchen
Panoramic kitchen window
View from the Kitchen
Upstairs Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom Upstairs
Upstairs - cosy and comfortable
At the entrance to the property. Cottage and historic woodland
Summer evening panorama
Summer view, with some of the neighbours
Approach to the cottage, April
View SW from the property towards the Grey Corries
On the doorstep - Ben Nevis, Britain's highest mountain
Wild Local Scenery - The Grey Corries
Wild Winter Wilderness with property location indicated
Midwinter Moonlight (from the kitchen)
Glen Roy - river and ice age 'parallel roads'
Spectacular glacial features in upper Glen Roy
Beautiful River Roy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Peter Y
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016

We had a great time at this cottage. It's set about a mile out of Roy Bridge, so a nice and easy to walk to the pub at night (bring a torch!). The cottage itself has a lot of character and a fantastic sun room with great wood burner. It's set in large wooded grounds which are great for kids to explore.

The only problem we had was with the hot water for the downstairs shower and bath. No matter how well we planned the immersion heater we always seemed to struggle. There's an electric shower upstairs though so it wasn't the end of the world, but the cottage would be a lot better with an on-demand combi.

Would definitely stop here again. We had a great week and the location is beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Dear Peter,
Thanks for the review, and for choosing to stay at Coille Diobhain. Shortly after your stay we installed an easy-to-use analogue timer for the immersion heater which has improved the planning of hot water usage. Unfortunately the roof space limits the size of the immersion heater, and there is no gas supply to the cottage. Best wishes,
Ruari
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspire62...
2 reviews
“Beautiful house in breathtaking location”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful week at Coille Diobhain. The location is stunning and wonderfully quiet. Highlights were the Nevis Range, Parallell Roads, Steall Waterfall, the Jacobite Railway and the endless variety of walks. Equally sitting in the garden with a drink looking at the view with the company of the resident deer was a great way to relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnookFam
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Breathtaking views, Perfect Location...”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I have to start by saying how impressed I was with the owner, Ruari, and how prompt and attentive Ruari was throughout the whole process. Everything you need is available, from a nice goodie basket of treats when you arrive to all the information you need on local hikes, and good restaurants to eat at.

We had a family of 8 with 3 young children under the age of 10. The house was stocked with lots of toys for the girls to play with. We enjoyed the company of the resident deer who greeted us every morning and evening.

The views from the living room are absolutely breathtaking. I'll never forget how the kids just screamed when we entered the house. "This is so amazing!"

The only slight drawbacks were the hot water challenges using the downstairs shower, but we made it work, and the lawn had not been mowed so we were unable to adventure around the property how we would have liked. However Ruari was more than apologetic and tacked on a little extra to our "deposit" refund for the inconvenience.

The location of the house is superb, you are only a short jaunt down the road from Fort William where we bought our groceries for our stay, and within driving distance to many of the area highlights such as Glen Coe, Glen Etive, The Jacobite Train, Kilchurn Castle, Inverness, Culloden, and Loch Ness. All of which we visited while we were there.

I would recommend this house to anyone looking to stay in the Highlands.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie228
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful spacious cottage with amazing views”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage has everything you could wish for: comfortable furnishings, spacious rooms, a very well-stocked kitchen, a wide range of books, DVDs and board games and absolute peace and quiet! The views are astonishing and you are incredibly close to nature with deer, hare, birds and bats coming in and out of the garden. It is also easy to find and in a great location to do all sorts of activities. I would recommend this cottage to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the extras: the board games, the DVDs, the electric blankets!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M
1 review
“Unbelievable views.”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Had an amazing time staying here, the views are the best I've ever experienced. I didn't want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing