We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday rental”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stanford House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
kichen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
scotdad
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday rental”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A very nice location with an abundance of floor space to accommodate 6 persons. It's a very nice Victorian house with many period features so just my kind of thing. Recommended to others and will be staying g again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wahoowall...
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming row house near Inverness City Centre, right on the River Ness, within walking distance of everything.”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We are a family of four, with two adult children in their 20's. This charming, two-story row home is at the end of Friar's Place, a quiet street, right next the River Ness. The home includes a couple of separate living areas and a small, fully equipped kitchen area on the first floor. The three bedrooms and bathroom are upstairs.

The accommodations were clean, comfortable and cozy. There is a private courtyard outside the kitchen that we did not use. Parking was available and the Cable TV and wifi worked well.

Sharon D. was an excellent host and very friendly. She dropped by when we arrived and walked us through the apartment, features and provided some recommendation for food and pubs which were excellent. She also came by on the day of our checkout.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bathroom, while functional, is a little dated.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
247uktrav...
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So Perfect”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Booked at Stanford House while my family were visiting from the States on Holiday. Was hoping to use it as a base as we showed them the Highlands. It was SO much more than a base! The house was absolutely PERFECT. The location was amazingly close to the river and great local dining options and the house itself was spotless, cozy and roomy enough for all of us. My only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. Sharon was so nice and even let us leave our bags in the front room so we could make easier use of our last day in town. We are definitely hoping to be back when my parents come again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bouquin75
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An excellent reason to visit Inverness”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed everything about our stay at Stanford House. The house is nicely decorated, well-kept, fully-equipped and strategically located. The owner was very accessible and helpful. We hope very much that we can return to Stanford House in the future.

Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vacation in Inverness area”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked Stanford House as a base for travels to Culloden, Forres, Loch Ness, and Isle of Skye. Right from the start our dealings with Sharon were perfect. The house was warm and inviting on our arrival. The amenities suited our every need. It's location suited us perfectly as it was within walking distance to shopping, eating and entertaining establishments. It is also near main roads to all the day trips we had planned. My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to someday return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing