We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,145)
Filter reviews
2,145 results
Traveller rating
544
791
457
187
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
544
791
457
187
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ash restaurant train station grand staircase railway hotel limited parking central location night break hospitality tray twin room buffet breakfast public areas biscuits hotel restaurant bottled water location is excellent short break tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,145 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Royal Highland Hotel is conveniently situated next to the Inverness railway station. It is like stepping back in time to a more elegant and sophisticated era. The service was excellent and food delicious. Comfortable room and friendly, engaging staff.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank robinmI3871TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Highland_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the kind review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we would look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Royal Highland hotel is next door to the station so very handy for train travellers. Couldn’t hear the trains. A grand foyer area and people enjoying refreshments in there sitting in comfy chairs. The Ash restaurant food is ok, but a bit pricey. The room was clean and comfy but the colour scheme was dire (mustard yellow painted walls are not restful) and the corridor colours were awful. Somebody needs to choose more tasteful colours to make this seem a more upmarket hotel. Needs a refresh.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank annieofdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Highland_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the kind review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we would look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a beautiful old hotel, but the emphasis has to be on the "old". The main staircase is the only part of the hotel that desires a second look. The rooms are small which were expected, but they are also in need of some new paint and new carpetIng. No air conditioning and small windows. Very pricey for what you got. There is a restaurant but again, very pricey for mediocre food.

Stayed: October 2018
1  Thank Pattycatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Highland_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review - we have noted your observations and will definitely take corrective actions wherever necessary. We would be delighted to have you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked two rooms - one for my wife and me and for a friend we were travelling with for the night of 13 October 2018. On arrival, my wife and I were given a note to say we had been moved to another hotel down the road. We were not contacted beforehand and ended up driving and walking back and forth in the driving rain. Despite me making both bookings our friend, was still reserved with The Royal Highland. Just as well we weren't travelling with children!

This caused us considerable trouble on the night to sort out the sorry mess, and our thanks to the reception at replacement hotel for their help in sorting out. And no thanks to The Royal Highland's staff on reception who gave the very clear message that they didn't care less.

The hotel we got moved to is advertised at 30% lower room rate than the Royal Highland. And despite paying for breakfast at The Royal Highland the replacement hotel was very clear that breakfast was not included.

We got dumped into a lower quality hotel at a lower cost to with no forewarning and no apology, and did get the breakfast we paid for. Very poor customer service indeed.

Finally, The Royal Highland's website does not enable complaints to be made. On submission, a message saying "Oops...The case could not be created". A very cunning way to avoid complaints!

Room Tip: No idea, we never got a room
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Highland_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review and we apologise for any inconvenience caused due to any unforeseen relocation due to a maintenance issue some rooms. As a policy we always try to relocate to a similar or superior hotel and arrange a taxi to take you over - if this was not done, you are requested to kindly email us at info@royalhighlandhotel.co.uk so that we can investigate the matter. We definitely hope to welcome you back so that we can offer you the stay experience that a mjority of our guests take back with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I had stayed at this hotel previously and liked its central location and value for money but I was very disappointed with my last stay.
We arrived at around 2.15 pm to be told we could not check in till 3pm. OK, we got that but it was the manner in which we were told, no friendly greeting, no smile, no friendly manner ..it was very curt. Many hotels will let you check in if the room is ready, but she did not even ask for our name.
When we did check in about an hour later we were given a ground floor room, no outlook ...frosted glass, right next to the laundry. We came out in the morning to be met by a whole line of laundry trolleys. Not impressed ...if we had booked in last minute we would have been happy with any room but I had booked at least 6 weeks in advance. There appeared to be only two rooms on the ground floor. I had asked on check in if we could have a room on a higher floor but was told no as the hotel was full.
I felt very let down by the whole experience, so needless to say I shall not be returning regardless of location and price.

Room Tip: We had no choice.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Scottish-Galavanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Highland_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review and we apologise for any inconvenience. We have noted your observations very carefully and will initiate suitable corrective actions and we would look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews