We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Big sky's relaxing and recharged”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of house in the village of Sarclet, the original part is over 200 years old
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house in the village of Sarclet, the original part is over 200 years old
House from front Comfortable Lounge/Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Front of house in the village of Sarclet, the original part is over 200 years old
House from front
Comfortable Lounge/Diner
Lounge/Diner
Lounge/Diner
Lounge/Diner
Fully Fitted Kitchen
Fully fitted kitchen
Fully fitted kitchen
Garden with views over North Sea and Moray Firth
Northen Lights over Caithness Follow Aurora Watch UK on Twitter for recent photos
Northern Lights  21/01/15 taken by Gordon Mackie near Dunnet Head
History of 'The Haven'
Things to see around 'The Haven'
The oldsmoke house in The Haven at Sarclet just minutes from the house
The Haven
Seals in 'The Haven'
Seals in 'The Haven'
Seals in 'The Haven'
Local Beaches
Local Beaches
Local Beaches
The locals are always interested in visitors
The scenery really is breathtaking
Dunrobin Castle, open to public including Falconry demonstration
The Haven at Sarclet from above
Castle Mey, Queen Mothers Castle Open to visitors please check opening dates and times
The Wick Heritage Centre is a Tardis of a local exhibits
Boat trips can be arranged locally for seal and whale watching
The Haven
Hill O Many Stanes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wick, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Adrian B
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Big sky's relaxing and recharged”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Great views great location, night sky's and a wee dram. Must walk down to see the seals, too much to see want to go back. Croft cottage is the base for you to explore the north

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelwing...
inverness
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular scenery”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This cottage was a piece of heaven, from where it is situated in the peaceful village of Sarclet.
Sarclet has the most interesting history, directly out of your living room window, down at the shore!
The views are spectacular.
The cottage has a well loved homely feel about it and everything you need for your stay. We were very comfortable and the cottage was pre heated for our arrival.
The garden is great for your pets and the shore being so close is fantastic to walk your dog.
We thoroughly enjoyed it and would love to come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gail D
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Beautiful property with everything you'll need. People we met were all nice and friendly. Nice beach to walk the dogs,a totally relaxing holiday had by everyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_The_O...
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a hidden gem!! Paradise”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We arrived here in the midst of storm Barbara 23.12.16 - 27.12.16. The township of Sarclet is found by turning off the A9 at Thrumster (Smiddy Inn) and then carrying on down until the road turns into single track. The Croft is the last original house on the left and stands about 40 metres from the cliff edge. The accommodation is beyond perfection. A great sized double bedroom and another large room with 2 single beds. These rooms are the original building and the kitchen and lounge are an extension. The kitchen has all the appliances you need. Washer, dryer, microwave, toaster and all cutlery necessary. This feels like a home as soon as you arrive and this is evident with tools available, spare light bulbs, binoculars free to use, and there are also essential items which I assume are from previous guests which we also added to such as salt, pepper, ketchup, bubble bath, foil, tea, coffee, sugar etc. The property itself stands in a stunning location with panoramic sea views from the kitchen window and lounge patio doors. Just a short walk to the cliff edge you can sea onto Sarclet Harbour which is generally covered in seals and there also stands a few ruins. It's stunning. A short walk away is a natural blowhole in the ground ( be careful as it's not fenced off). And just a mile away to the south is a large stunning loch. Inside the lounge cabinet is some important info which tells you all about the croft history, area and also some small quirks about the house. Make sure you read this info. The background really does add to the beautiful feel of the place. A perfect spot for the northern lights although we saw a small bit of it we didn't get the full aurora. The locals told me October is a good time for this. As you head out of Sarclet and back to Thrumster you'll see the smiddy inn. This is a gorgeous pub with log fire and a really homely feel. They do not allow dogs although made an exception as me and my other half stood outside drinking a pint in subzero haha so me, Emma and the dog were allowed to sit in the corner by the fire. The bar staff are very friendly.
Things to do locally? Well a dog friendly bar is The Mountain Dew in Wick. Very friendly. The locals insisted on buying us a dram of whiskey and everyone has pockets full of dog treats. The walk to north Head at Wick is beautiful so you must do this. They also have the most northerly distillery in the UK which is worth a trip too. Further north you obviously have John O Groats but if you have the dog, head to Dunnet. There's a forest walk there where you can cover a good few miles and if navigated right brings you out onto a huge stunning beach. We did this Christmas Day. It's a half hour drive from Sarclet. Just south of Sarclet by 4 miles is the Whaligoe Steps. Have a google. 365 steps down a cliff face to one of the most inaccessible harbours in the uk. Wick has all your amenities. Tesco superstore, Lidl, Superdrug, pets at home. Etc. All in all, Sarclet is one of the most beautiful places I've ever visited. Steeped in history, stunning location, the croft is a stunning place to stay and I'd recommend it to anyone. Our 649 mile drive from Wiltshire was well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Dear Sam

Thank you very much for your review, I very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Although I don't live in the area, I have a very deep affection for the area and people, and sounds as if they have touched you to. Please do try a summer stay, it never gets dark and with the Gulf Stream coming around the top into the North Sea swimming is not only possible but a pleasure. Hope to hear from you again, thanks Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing