We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely well presented and comfortable”
Review of The Clachan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Clachan
Ranked #1 of 19 Wick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newtonhill, Scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Extremely well presented and comfortable”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We were extremely pleased with our room at The Clachan and Elspeth was an excellent hostess. Our room was spotlessly clean and the en-suite was fabulous. Everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel and the bacon at breakfast was some of the best I've ever had. It was just a pity we were only staying for one night on our way to Orkney.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rush2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
148
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Elspeth was wonderful and very very kind when it was not certain if we needed another night due to an extended hospital stay. Thank you Elspeth.

We cannot recommend The Clachan highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Elspeth deservedly wins the Olympic Gold medal for accommodation in 2012. This B 'n B is unbelievably scrupulously clean, the silver bathroom fittings positively gleam, the carpet is akin to walking on a tartan mohair blanket, the hand wash lotion has a most addictive scent, and sleep was inevitable on that soft cloud of bedding! What a fabulous choice of breakfast items on the menu...and the hot items timed perfectly to follow the cereals and juices. The pride Elspeth displays in her home, and her hospitality, are something to behold....all B 'n B hosts should spend time with her, and learn from such a superb experience. My 2 night stay has left me longing for an extended visit...the warmest of congratulations Elspeth

Room Tip: All rooms are ground floor, such an asset for senior citizens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The rooms are excellent. The host is very courteous. The location is pretty close to the town center. The town is under 30 miles to John o' groats (Would suggest people to stay here or Thurso rather than John o' groats itself as you can cover other nearby places of interest as well). The breakfast was excellent. Stayed in this place when there was no other guest in the B&B and had a great experience in the place.

Though the cost of the stay was 10 quid more than I had expected, it was perfect and worth the money. Only thing I would have wished was to not see the notice that said no take aways in the room; having a nice Chinese takeaway with a couple of swigs of Scotch watching TV in the room would have been perfect :-).

Room Tip: The twin room is the biggest room (I didn't get to see the other rooms), but I could figure with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srikanth_nag21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeming, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed at the end of January, Elspeth is a total charmer and The Clachan is quite superb. Given that Wick is a grimy, unspectacular town with, frankly, very little to recommend it, ( apart from a very decent Wetherspoons ) it's all about the journey there ( which, by train, is superb ) and then the B&B experience once there. Having stayed at a very poor other B&B in Wick previously, a lot of hope / expectation was placed on The Clachan and it didn't disappoint at all

Quite superbly appointed room, massive ensuite, and Elspeth's breakfast was A1, All in all, an excellent B&B, can easily see why it is ranked No 1 in Wick

Next planned trip to Wick is January 2014 - The Clachan will be the first port of call for accommodation, and if by chance Elspeth is unable to accommodate us......we'll miss Wick out totally !

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are equally good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esmeralda61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
1.0 km away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
285 reviews
0.7 km away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
429 reviews
0.6 km away
Breadalbane House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 km away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
250 reviews
24.8 km away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
214 reviews
403.5 km away
Alba Sunrise
Alba Sunrise
#3 of 19 in Wick
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clachan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clachan

Property: The Clachan
Address: 13 Randolph Place, Wick KW1 5NJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Wick
Price range (per night): $109 - $118
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clachan 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Highland welcome awaits you at "The Clachan” where we have been welcoming guests for nearly three decades and have recently undergone a total refurbishment. Come and discover John o' Groats, Castle of Mey, Dunnet Head or why not visit Wick Heritage Centre. You can enjoy a trip with the Seacoast Tours around the coastline of Caithness or take a trip over to the Orkney Islands, you won’t be disappointed. We are approximately a ten-minute walk from the centre of town where you will find a range of restaurants, pubs and hotels to cater for your meals. We are proud to have achieved 4 Gold Stars with the S.T.B. and 4 Gold Stars with the A..A.. and are a founder member of Scotland’s Best B&B’s. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Clachan Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing