We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really good rental!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sea Shore Cottage

View from main bedroom. Recent guest 'A sea view better than on a cruise liner!'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from main bedroom. Recent guest 'A sea view better than on a cruise liner!'
Sea Shore Cottage just after the July 2013 re-opening - with Sea Otter Cottage beyond Open the front door and immediately feel welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
View from main bedroom. Recent guest 'A sea view better than on a cruise liner!'
Sea Shore Cottage just after the July 2013 re-opening - with Sea Otter Cottage beyond
Open the front door and immediately feel welcome
Smart kitchen/dining area. Oven, hob and microwave. Washing machine and drier. Fridge-freezer
Open plan dining table and lounge area
Looking back towards the front door
Now do come on and have a look upstairs
Along the landing.
to get a first glimpse of that wonderful view of the harbour area from the main bedroom
Morning sunshine and a comfy bed. Where's my coffee? Then I'll sit up and be mesmerised by
View of the ever-changing sea and sky.
Then back along the landing to the second bedroom
With two more comfy beds
Dawn sunlight reflected in next door castle windows. (Photo thanks to a recent guest)
Finally the newly-refurbished bathroom with shower
An increasingly popular location you won't forget.  Book now before it's too late.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wick, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Pauline R
2 reviews
“Really good rental!”
Reviewed 27 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The cottage was well kept, clean and comfortable, very welcoming. Great sea views, right on the shore, peaceful and pleasant, ideal for the dog. Just minutes in the car from the Wick Tesco and the airport.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property cosy and comfortable
Liked least: Property near the village septic tanks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you for a great weekend . Property was exactly as described. Everything you could need is provided ,great information booklet on hand and the property is perfectly located to travel easily to all the sightseeing musts .We really enjoyed our stay and will recommend to friends without hesitation !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havefunMe...
merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fulfilled it's promises”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

From the owner's description, Seashore Cottage promised a comfortable home from home while exploring this spectacular area. And it did exactly that. The cottage is warm and homely. Maps, guides and binoculars are thoughtfully provided, as well as a box of childrens toys. A note invites you to feel at home, and you feel as though you are staying in a friends house. Another communication suggests you leave behind unused groceries, if still in date, for the benefit of the next guests. So if you are arriving shortly, there is plenty of sugar, salt, pepper and some other seasonings, tea and coffee! Oh, and the views from the windows are mesmerising. No problem with doing the washing up when you can see oyster catchers, a curlew, cormorants and seals through the window.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Wish I'd booked it for longer
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S
2 reviews
“Sea Shore Cottage exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

For those who love the peace and quiet of the countryside and coastal views this is the ideal place. The shore is rocky and may not be good for young children but it is good fro wildlife. The cottage is warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean - a real home from home. We were lucky to have had excellent weather for our short stay but I am sure that in bad conditions we would have been warm and secure with plenty of books and games provided, in addition to TV, to keep us amused. We want to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kewlkatsp...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Had a great time and will be back asap”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I have already stayed in the next-door Sea Otter Cottage, which I thoroughly enjoyed. On this occasion I wanted to see what the recently-renovated Sea Shore Cottage was like. I was not disappointed. The open-plan downstairs living room / kitchen / dining area was ideal for me, as I could spread all my stuff out and make myself at home. I made full use of the kitchen (can recommend the local butcher's shop Harrold Bros and the Puffin Croft Farm Shop near John O'Groats). Would suggest tiling the area behind the hob, though, as a better protection against food splashes that will be easier to keep clean.
The views out across Sinclair's Bay were just as good as I remembered from my previous stay in Sea Otter Cottage. However, please take care when opening the upstairs windows to get an even better view: somehow on the first day of my stay, I managed to lock one window open and it took me a while to locate the window key to unlock and close it again. So I hung all the window keys on hooks in the cupboard under the stairs to make them easily accessible if anyone else is as clumsy as I was.
Obviously, Sea Shore Cottage is more modern inside than its next-door neighbour, but not at the expense of comfort and charm. It was lovely to come home to after day trips out.
Had a great stay and have already booked a return trip in the autumn with a friend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location; great base for exploring the area - modern and cosy
Liked least: could do with a splatter guard or tiles behind the hob
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing