We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Had a great time and will be back asap”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sea Shore Cottage

View from main bedroom. Recent guest 'A sea view better than on a cruise liner!'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from main bedroom. Recent guest 'A sea view better than on a cruise liner!'
Sea Shore Cottage just after the July 2013 re-opening - with Sea Otter Cottage beyond Open the front door and immediately feel welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
View from main bedroom. Recent guest 'A sea view better than on a cruise liner!'
Sea Shore Cottage just after the July 2013 re-opening - with Sea Otter Cottage beyond
Open the front door and immediately feel welcome
Smart kitchen/dining area. Oven, hob and microwave. Washing machine and drier. Fridge-freezer
Open plan dining table and lounge area
Looking back towards the front door
Now do come on and have a look upstairs
Along the landing.
to get a first glimpse of that wonderful view of the harbour area from the main bedroom
Morning sunshine and a comfy bed. Where's my coffee? Then I'll sit up and be mesmerised by
View of the ever-changing sea and sky.
Then back along the landing to the second bedroom
With two more comfy beds
Dawn sunlight reflected in next door castle windows. (Photo thanks to a recent guest)
Finally the newly-refurbished bathroom with shower
An increasingly popular location you won't forget.  Book now before it's too late.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wick, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
kewlkatsp...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Had a great time and will be back asap”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I have already stayed in the next-door Sea Otter Cottage, which I thoroughly enjoyed. On this occasion I wanted to see what the recently-renovated Sea Shore Cottage was like. I was not disappointed. The open-plan downstairs living room / kitchen / dining area was ideal for me, as I could spread all my stuff out and make myself at home. I made full use of the kitchen (can recommend the local butcher's shop Harrold Bros and the Puffin Croft Farm Shop near John O'Groats). Would suggest tiling the area behind the hob, though, as a better protection against food splashes that will be easier to keep clean.
The views out across Sinclair's Bay were just as good as I remembered from my previous stay in Sea Otter Cottage. However, please take care when opening the upstairs windows to get an even better view: somehow on the first day of my stay, I managed to lock one window open and it took me a while to locate the window key to unlock and close it again. So I hung all the window keys on hooks in the cupboard under the stairs to make them easily accessible if anyone else is as clumsy as I was.
Obviously, Sea Shore Cottage is more modern inside than its next-door neighbour, but not at the expense of comfort and charm. It was lovely to come home to after day trips out.
Had a great stay and have already booked a return trip in the autumn with a friend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location; great base for exploring the area - modern and cosy
Liked least: could do with a splatter guard or tiles behind the hob
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A
Alyth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A simple and comfortable base for touring Caithness”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here whilst doing some family tree research. Sea shore is a bijou conversion of a boathouse. For us, it suited us down to the ground as the perfect base for exploring my husband's heritage. Rupert could not have been more helpful. The cottage is not luxurious but it is comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped. we were there during a cold spell but were cosy enough. The proximity of the sea is a real bonus - especially at night - going to sleep by the sound of the water outside. i would recommend this cottage as especially suitable for solo travellers and couples. Extremely good value for money - great base for exploring this fascinating part of Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: situation and well equipped kitchen
Liked least: the sofa - not very supportive for folk with bad backs!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee130585
Maryport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a beautiful location by the sea in the north of Scotland then this is the place! (I don't think you could get closer to the sea if you tried).
This lovely cottage is right on the sea front and has been recently refurbished to a very high standard.

I took my partner here for a long weekend and we found the cottage a pleasure to stay in with all the mod cons including wifi but was also very cosy and homely with the most amazing view to wake up to.

The area is very beautiful. Weather you plan the sights you want to see or do as we did and just go and explore where you will find lots of viewpoints, which have some of the most stunning views I have ever seen.

To sum up my visit it was perfect. I will definitely be back in the future and would recommend this cottage to anyone and everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: None all was amazing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis A
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful location by the sea.”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This is a prime location to view the ever changing seas and wildlife.
The cottage is very comfortable with a very well equipped kitchen.
Which ever window you look out of the views are amazing. The free WiFi was very much appreciated.
There is ample parking adjacent to the cottage., it is only a short drive from the centre of Wick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The comfort and the views
Liked least: Having to leave to go home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2014
Thank you for your kind comments.

Work continues to make sure Sea Shore Cottage
is, in every way, the very best location anywhere in Caithness!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thewoodli...
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning location, fantastic clean cosy cottage, helpful welcoming owner.”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We couldn't have been made more welcome. The cottage was clean, fresh, well supplied and in one of the most beautiful locations I have seen. The views from the windows were stunning. We saw otters, seals and too many birds to list. Every time you walk around the cottage you are faced with another window and another sea view!. Then the sky or the wind changes and the whole seascape has changed again - Thank you so much for a lovely stay.

Steve and Lea

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from windows/location
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2013
So glad you enjoyed Sea Shore Cottage. Looking forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing