We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hamburgher”

The Cabin at John O'Groats
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 1 - USD 8
Cuisines: Scottish, Fast food, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Mainland Scotland's Northernmost takeaway. Freshly cooked Fish and Chips, Burgers, Hotdogs, Vegetarian, Haggis, Bacon and Eggs and Homemade soup.Locally sourced ingredients where available .Outdoor seating, cash preferred. cards accepted.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We live locally but try to avoid John o'groat during the holiday season. Geoff and Tracy had returned from their world trip and we were very cordially welcomed. I decided to have a burgher and Geoff asked me what I wanted on it. I plumped for the full works Bacon, cheese and onions. I wasn't particularly hungry, BUT THE SMELL OF THE COOKING HAD MY DIGESTIVE JUICES FLOWING .The weather was bright but cold so I sat in my car and thoroughly enjoyed every moment digesting that Burgher. I heartily recommend the food at the Cabin

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff E, Owner at The Cabin at John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Colin, happy new season to you. Looks like the new aromatherapy machine is working well! If we close our eyes we can picture you in the car eating your burger and licking your lips after!! We hope others will leave as enthusiastic reviews this summer and hope to see you and Karen again very very soon. Geoff, Tracey and aromatherapy machine,,,,,,,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

If you go any further north
You're going to get your feet wet
So why not stop in John O'Groats
While you decide what to get.

Stop for the special,
Pop in for the chips.
You'll come for the view,
But you'll stay for the fish.

So if your hunger
Leaves you out at sea,
Pop in to The Cabin
Down at the quay.

So lovely to meet you Geoff and Tracey. Hope you have a good end to the season!

Chris and Donna

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff E, Owner at The Cabin at John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

We're delighted to find
We were foremost in your mind
When you came for the food
And you found it rather good

Your review was a belter
Tracey's heart it did melt her
Geoff's so happy too
Thanks to the both of you

Chris and Donna, come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We stopped by on a very very windy morning to get some breakfast rolls on the go. The guy who runs it is great and so friendly! The food is well priced, even more so if you have a NC500 card!

1  Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff E, Owner at The Cabin at John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

It's nice to be nice! Great to hear you had a good visit. Hope the rest of the Nc500 trip went well, thanks for the review! Geoff and Tracey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We were lucky to get up here before Cabin closed for the Season. Lasange was the days soecial. Very tasty in attractuve surroundings. Served piping hot. Very tasty. Route 500 Merchandise on sale . good choice of menu .

1  Thank jagkiwi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff E, Owner at The Cabin at John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Delighted with your review, thank you ! The Lasagne is a new addition , homemade by our Tracey! Hope the rest of your trip round the 500 was enjoyable, Geoff and Tracey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Once again we visited The Cabin and had chips on a tray. Karen usually has a couple of my chips but because she considers them to be so good she had her own tray and thoroughly enjoyed them. People who write poor reports are obviously lacking in the ability to communicate with the vendor. Congratulations on your wonderful fare. We'll see you after the holidays All the best to Geoff and Tracy

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff E, Owner at The Cabin at John O'Groats, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Colin, delighted you and Karen enjoyed your chips, we were so disappointed with the previous review, we still don't understand where we went wrong for that customer. As a regular customer we were pleased you found the chips up to standard and glad you took the time to drop us a line here. Hope winter in the Uk is kind to you, we will see you in Spring! Thanks once again for your support, Geoff and Tracey, xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cabin at John O'Groats also viewed

John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland
John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland
 
John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland
John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland
 
John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland
South Ronaldsay, Orkney Islands
 

Been to The Cabin at John O'Groats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing