We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and friendly service at a good price.”

The Cairngorm Hotel
Ranked #7 of 61 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 13 - USD 19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service at a good price.”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We visited here and it was really busy, both the bar and restaurant were packed. Despite this we put our names down and were seated quickly. The atmosphere was lively without being too noisy. The menu was extensive so it was difficult to chose. Sometimes a large menu and a busy restaurant means sub standard food, but the food was good and the staff were really friendly and attentive. The portions were big but we still managed to share a dessert after and "the white lady" was really nice.
When back in Aviemore would definately visit again for the good atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    397
    114
    41
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wish I'd found it before I ate at the Macdonald Highland Hotel.”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Good selection of food, hearty platefulls and extremely good value for money.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ALG37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
134 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good service, nice environment, but unspecial food”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My wife and I visited here Easter 2012 for dinner. I was very busy. There was no booking; you gave your name, then went and had a drink in the bar. That worked pretty well.

On the plus side, the staff were friendly and very efficient, despite being very busy. The main restaurant room is quite a nice space.

Unfortunately the food is nothing special: a small step above regular pub grub. It’s tasty, though the options are quite heavy and not at all healthy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thenighthawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and traditional decor”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Great dining experience - all decorated with a traditional scottish theme. Superb food - very large portions, and all delicious. Very large menu to choose from. The derserts in particular were huge! Lots of ingredients were locally sourced. All very reaosnably priced - mains mostly between 10-12pounds

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brora, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Busy place.....must be good!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Big choice - I had liver and bacon....and it is hard to get that right - but it was lovely - shame the 'veg of the day' - cabbage with bacon wasn't so good (the bacon wasn't cooked very well) - but all in all it was an enjoyable meal - good atmosphere...very busy but the staff seemed to cope with it all....

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ELEMGEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cairngorm Hotel also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to The Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing