We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful

Lovely pleasent location. Beautiful views of the loch and good paths. We were able to take a push... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
gracecurtis10
,
Darlington, United Kingdom
via mobile
Tranquilty and Views

Stunning place to stroll for 2-3 hours in silence and fresh air, very quiet, a few RED squirrels... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
FOODTART2011
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Read all 1,188 reviews
  
Reviews (1,188)
Filter reviews
1,090 results
Traveller rating
827
224
32
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
827
224
32
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely walk ruined castle car park parking charge castle ruins beautiful spot small charge easy walk circular walk per adult small shop toilet facilities stunning scenery mountain bikes red squirrels couple of hours loch
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,090 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Lovely pleasent location. Beautiful views of the loch and good paths. We were able to take a push chair round.

Thank gracecurtis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at Loch an Eilein, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for this review and for caring for this stunning area and special wildlife by paying to park and using the maintained path around the loch. So glad you were able to take a push chair round - we want all ages to be able to enjoy Loch an Eilein. Hope you can return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stunning place to stroll for 2-3 hours in silence and fresh air, very quiet, a few RED squirrels LONG THE WAY

Thank FOODTART2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, General Manager at Loch an Eilein, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am so glad you had such a wonderful visit to this enchanting place, It is a particularly good time to enjoy Red Squirrels as they're running around collecting food for the winter. Thank you for this lovely review and hope you can return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved this lovely loch and the area. Was a brisk November day with slight over cast skies but some blue in the distance behind the hill........just loved this one!!!!

Thank 677ScottS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, General Manager at Loch an Eilein, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

What a lovely review - thank you. I am so pleased you enjoyed this very special place and hope you can return,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wonderful way to start the day at one with nature. Greeted by red squirrel when I got out the car. Went after sunrise as foggy start to the day. So still and peaceful and got to admire all by myself as no other visitors.

Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, General Manager at Loch an Eilein, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for this lovely review. Hope you can return for another amazing visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On our visits to Aviemore a walk round Loch an Eilein is a must. It’s ideal for young children and is manageable for pushchairs and buggies. The views and scenery round the loch and up to the Cairngorms are stunning. For social walkers it takes about 90 mins to walk round but it can also form part of a much longer mountain bike route with numerous interlinking paths to other parts of the area easily accessible. The parking attendant was also extremely friendly and helpful but not in an over bearing manner.

Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, General Manager at Loch an Eilein, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am delighted you enjoyed your visit - thank you for writing this very helpful 5 bubble review and thank you for caring for it by paying to park so future generations can enjoy it as well. Hope you can return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a gorgeous walk! The loch and surrounding forest are outstanding, especially this time of year. The colours are outstanding. The walk is nice and at around 3.5 miles was doable with an 8, 7 and 6 year old. The island in the loch with a ruined castle provides striking views from every angle.

Thank nemesisofpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at Loch an Eilein, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago


I am delighted that you all enjoyed your walk round Loch an Eilein - thank you for this great review. This year the autumn colours are amazing - they almost look unreal; we are very grateful to you and all those who care for this stunning area and endangered rare and vulnerable animals, plants and birds by paying to park. Hope you saw Red Squirrels, they are very active at the moment collecting food for winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Walked around the loch it is beautiful very clean and well kept would recommend visiting when in Aviemore.

Thank Melfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at Loch an Eilein, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for this five bubble review and for recommending Loch an Eilein. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope you can return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely walk around loch with red squirrels and lots of other visitors. When you arrive at bumpy, puddly, uneven car park be aware that you are charged by number in the car. Loved the older chap collecting the money and hovering. Perhaps waiting for a tip. Mine would be charge less.

Thank Joji111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, General Manager at Loch an Eilein, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am so glad you enjoyed your walk and saw lots of red squirrels - they love the 'old growth' forest and this is one of the best times of year to see them running up and down trees collecting food for the winter. Thank you for caring for this special area for lots of 'at risk' species by paying to park, we are very grateful to all the kind people like you. Over 80% of Rothiemurchus is recognised through multiple designations as one of the most important areas in Europe, as well as in Scotland for protecting wildlife. Its is also loved as being one of the most beautiful and has a long history of nature and people. We constantly maintain the three car parks at Loch an Eilein so there are not puddles or bumps but we want to keep the feeling of wildness and feel tarmac is not appropriate.

So glad you liked Tom, all the attendants love Rothiemurchus and no way do they expect or have received a tip, (except perhaps from some visitors from the U.S. to whom this is standard practice) The three options to pay for parking cars have been developed in response to feedback from visitors, particularly from couples, single visitors, locals and those who visit regularly as well as to encourage our customers to discover and enjoy more of this unique place and our produce. Visitors tell us they welcome the opportunity to make a donation to support the Rangers and care of this stunning special area for conservation. Most people choose to buy Explorer cards at £1.50 pp - 50p for under 17, which are valid for a week, include a map of low level walks with information on the area and interesting things they might and can see during the walks, post card, parking for a day at Loch an Eilein, discounts on Rothiemurchus produce at Rothiemurchus Centre, Inverdruie and on some activities (max. charge £4.50), or become a Friend of Rothiemurchus with annual benefits of parking, discounts at Rothiemurchus Centre shops as well as on some of our guided or instructed activities.

The Rangers are supported by a large team who most people don't ever think about - they maintain and repair the loos, car park, run the little Visitor Centre and shop, they are experts in caring for the forest and wildlife, look after website and social media, pay the bills etc. Thank you for this review and hope you can return and there's no puddles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great walk from Aviemore, amazing in the autumn. Good for birdwatching, if that's your thing. Take your camera.

Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at Loch an Eilein, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

So pleased that you enjoyed your visit - this autumn, the trees throughout Rothiemurchus are looking amazing; Loch an Eilein never fails to be stunning throughout the year. Thank you for this lovely five bubble review and hope you can return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed the walk but did find the website confusing as to how much we needed to pay for parking and was on expensive side. Also after a long walk with kids would be good to have a better selection of food and drink at end.

Thank Cr1mson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, General Manager at Loch an Eilein, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for this helpful review and for caring for Rothiemurchus by paying to park. I am sorry that you found the website confusing - we'll have a look how we can make it clearer. The three options to pay for parking cars have been developed in response to feedback from visitors, particularly from couples, single visitors, locals and those who visit regularly as well as to encourage our customers to discover and enjoy more of this unique place and our produce. Visitors tell us they welcome the opportunity to make a donation to support the Rangers and care of this stunning special area for conservation. Most people choose to buy Explorer cards which are valid for a week, include a map of low level walks with information on the area and interesting things they might and can see during the walks, post card, parking for a day at Loch an Eilein, discounts on Rothiemurchus produce at Rothiemurchus Centre, Inverdruie and on some activities (max. charge £4.50), or become a Friend of Rothiemurchus with annual benefits of parking, discounts at Rothiemurchus Centre shops as well as on some of our guided or instructed activities. Loch an Eilein Centre is staffed from Easter to end October to enable visitors to ask questions, buy hot and cold drinks, a really good selection of tray bakes inc. gluten free, Scottish porridge bars etc. we've tried sandwiches and pies which didn't sell, however, ice creams are far the most popular whatever the weather. We will try more food and drinks next year.
Hope you can visit again and I am grateful for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews