We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Shelter Stone Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Shelter Stone Cottage
Front Steps The Shelter Stone Cottage Car Park and Front Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
63 reviews
The Shelter Stone Cottage
Front Steps
The Shelter Stone Cottage Car Park and Front Garden
Cottage front garden
Doors lead to Rear Patio Area
Dining Area
Games and dvd's
Aviemore Sunrise
Kitchen
Double bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Large Shower
Garden Seats and BBQ
Rosebed
Side Gate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Navigate7...
1 review
“The perfect place to stay!”
Reviewed 19 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The cottage is in a central position in Aviemore. It is extremely well appointed with all most people would require; and when we asked for something extra, Dorothy cheerfully obliged. It was the perfect place for our family group. Thank you Dorothy for allowing us to use your cottage. If we come back to this area we will think of your cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2018
So glad that you had a good time at The Shelter Stone Cottage. Hope you have a safe trip home. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coltking4...
1 review
“Aviemore ski trip”
Reviewed 15 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

What a lovely little cottage, it had everything you would of expected to find in your own home, will definitely be booking again, the landlady was very helpful,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2018
Glad you had a good time and hope to see you back next season
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavin k
1 review
“Excellent and well contained accomodation”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

What a fantastic place to stay. It was very clean and had great facilities allowing us enjoy the area and make the best of the local amenities and landscape. Dorothy was very welcoming and suggested that if we had any problems during our stay to get in touch. As it turned out we had no problems.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2018
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Shelter Stone Cottage and had a good time exploring the local area. Would be delighted to have you return anytime....Thank you for staying with me
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reb76
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy and clean, great location”
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed here with our dog in January, it was -9 degrees and deep snow but the cottage was lovely and warm. Really good location on the high street. Well equipped clean cottage. Would recommend and definitely would love to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
I'm so glad you enjoyed your break and look forward to having you back another time...thank you for booking with me....Dorothy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicWrit...
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A short but.much needed break!”
Reviewed 12 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My hubby and I needed a short break somewhere not too far from home and came across this little cottage. It was only just over an hour from home and had really good reviews. I was in touch with the owner Dorothy, who very kindly made some inquiries about dog sitters in the area for me. As it was, we found someone to look after him nearer to home. When we arrived, we gave Dorothy a quick call on the phone and she was with us in minutes. The cottage was light and airy and most importantly, warm as it was a freezing day. Dorothy showed us where everything was, then left saying she was just round the corner if we needed anything. We unpacked, then popped up to the local Tesco's for supplies then just settled down for the evening. The location of the cottage is brilliant, you are within walking distance of the centre of Aviemore. There is a nice pub/restaurant a few minutes walk away where we had our supper on the last night we were there and it was very good. The cottage itself had everything you would need. A fully functioning kitchen, we only used it for breakfast and snacks/coffee but had whatever you needed to cook yourselves a meal if you wanted. There was a microwave as well. The lounge area had two comfortable chairs and a leather settee and was a nice cosy space. The dining area was nice and there were some games/dvd's if you wanted something to do/watch. The bathroom was small but functional, there had been a mishap with the shower before we got there but it had been sorted out. There were two good sized bedrooms and although we slept in the double, which is right at the front of the cottage, near the main road going through Aviemore, we never heard any traffic noise apart from the sirens from emergency vehicles. All in all, we had a great break in a lovely, spotlessly clean cottage in a great location for a decent price. We would definitely go back and recommend it to others!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2018
I am so glad that you had a nice stay and thank you for the comprehensive review...The bathroom is actually being upgraded at the end of this month once my joiner gets the new shower. Look forward to having you back anytime. Thank you..... Dorothy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing