We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and ideal for an outdoorsy weekend!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Shelter Stone Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Shelter Stone Cottage
Living/dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
60 reviews
The Shelter Stone Cottage
Living/dining room
Aviemore Sunrise
Kitchen
Car Parking area
Cottage front garden
double bedroom
Santa is having a wee break at The Shelter Stone Cottage!!
Santa's friend the Snowman is spending a break with him after Christmas
Twin bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great location and ideal for an outdoorsy weekend!”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I booked this last minute for a winter skills course in Cairngorm and the responses were quick from the owner which helped settle a few nerves about having somewhere to sleep! We arrived late (10.30pm) from Aberdeen and it was great that the owner stayed up to let us in and show us the place,

Location of the cottage is great with only a short walk (few minutes) to the shops, pubs and train station in Aviemore.

Cottage was perfect for our use in which we were up early for breakfast and out the door for a day in the hills, stopping off to shower and change before hitting the Aviemore night scene ;) The decor is a bit basic but we weren't so fussed as we were in it for small amount of time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2017
Glad you had a good weekend....The cottage is in an ideal position for being in the heart of things. The cottage is decorated in a plain style which suits me...I'm not really into frills and flounces!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natureway...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stsy”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed here for two nights early January.
Well presented, clean and comfortable.
Well positioned on the main road in Aviemore so close enough to walk anywhere in Aviemore.

Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Glad you had a nice time in Aviemore at The Shelter Stone Cottage....hope to see you back again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
I am glad that you had such a good time in The Shelter Stone Cottage and hope to see you back again....Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kirsty D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family-friendly holiday home”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We spent a wonderful weekend at the cottage in December and loved everything about it. It sits right on Aviemore's main street which is perfect for accessing local shops/bars/restaurants. It's also only a ten minute walk from the train station, which was ideal for us as we had booked tickets to The Santa Express (also fab).

Having a three year old meant the thought of all three of us being cooped up in one hotel room for the entire weekend a little less than excited, so the cottage solved that issue. Our son had so much space to play with his toys and then at night time we could pop him into his own room whilst my husband and I enjoyed a glass of wine and a movie...so relaxing.

The owner, Dorothy was very reliable and was there to meet us with the key when we arrived. She was happy to discuss any queries that we had, such as heating and then left us to enjoy our break.

The cottage has everything one could possibly need and is ideal for anyone looking for a relaxed, no frills break in beautiful Aviemore. Can't wait to return.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2016
I am so glad that you all had such a nice time for your short break at The Shelter Stone Cottage. There is so much to see and do in the area around Aviemore and I am sure as the wee fella grows up you will be back to make the most of the beautiful area!! Mind I can always get a babysitter for you if you want an evening out. Was lovely to meet you and look forward to having you all return. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
I am so glad you had a relaxing break before your very busy spell! Look forward to having you back another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing