We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr and Mrs”

Review of Wildhaven Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Geraint D
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr and Mrs”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A hidden gem with amazing views. A perfect home away from home retreat. Fantastic walks nearby and a reasonably short drive to the shores of Loch Ness.
The cottage has lots of home comforts, everything was clean and tidy.
We both wish we could have stayed longer than a weekend.
We would definitely recommend this to anyone, fantastic value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PixieCat7...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a brilliant find!!!!”
Reviewed 4 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Wildhaven Cottage - OMG. Love this place. Feels like the middle of nowhere (well it is!) but only a couple of miles from the A9 for speedy travel, just 20mins from Inverness and with an abundance of A and B roads leading to everywhere on the doorstep to explore... It is SO unusual to find a 2 person self catering cottage but I'm so glad I did! Customer service - superb. Hospitality - superb. Location - superb. Amenities within the cottage - superb...

The drive up is a dirt track for the last mile or so, but no need for a 4x4!! The cottage is set within its own grounds with glorious scenery from every window - whether its sunrise, sunset, chicken and geese and ducks, more 'wild' life or just the rolling countryside - every window offers something!

The lounge is well equipped with local OS maps, booklets and local info. Tv, hifi, dvd player. Incredibly comfy reclining sofa/chairs and throws. Kitchen has everything you could need, and bread, milk, butter was supplied. It was clean and everything was easy to find. There is even a proper old fashioned wicker picnic basket! Small table to eat at in the kitchen if you so wish. Fridge/freezer of ample size. Odds and ends of 'store cupboard' items left by previous holiday makers...

Bedroom is roomy, nicely decoated in calm colours and comes with a view. And black out blinds, handy for summer months when at 11pm its still only just getting dusky outside! The most comfortable bed ever, with a cloud like duvet. 2 large double wardrobes and a chest of drawers, plus a lovely old fashioned dressing table. Also a hairdryer so don't worry about packing yours! Hangers also provided. Plenty of sockets for charging up those phones by the bed (and free wifi access provides better mobile signal than some towns get!!!). Bathroom is stocked with small bottles of gel, shampoo etc, and toilet rolls and towels. Even tho' not on mains water, the water pressure was good, even on low setting in the shower, and with it being an electric shower hotness was ensured! Drinking water perfectly lovely!

The bungalow forms one end of the owners home but you have your own door, and you'd not really know you had anyone next door to you. The decking outside is fenced off so you don't feel overlooked at all, but you have glorious open views to the garden and ponds... and there are various options for sitting outside if the weather permits (we did manage boiled eggs al fresco one morning which was a real bonus!)

The peace and tranquility of this place is worth every penny of the very reasonable cost per night (compared to some B&B's - you get a LOT for your money here!). Mairi is very lovely, friendly and helpful for things to see and do if you're after some ideas. Penny the dog is a big old softie, and you may find a chicken after your boot laces if you leave your boots outside! A perfectly serene place to visit and I can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: that we had to leave - ended up booking an extra night the night before we were due to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patters84
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem that surpasses all expectations”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We travelled to the Inverness area for a friend's wedding, and fortuitously stumbled across this fantastic gem of a cottage whilst trawling through a number of uninspiring hotels in the local area. Words do not do justice to just how fantastic this property is - our first impression being unspoilt picture perfect views of surrounding hills and forests, with the silence only broken by the breeding wading birds in the nearby fields. The property itself is absolutely delightful and incredibly comfortable - fully equipped with everything that you might need, and providing the perfect atmosphere for relaxation. The stand out factor for us was the exceptional hospitality shown to us by Mairi and her family - from ensuring that we arrived safely with fantastic directions (and to a kitchen stocked with food and shortbread to keep us sustained!) to generously offering us a lift to the wedding nearby. All in all, our experience was exceptional and I would wholeheartedly recommend this property in a second - it surpassed all our expectations, and the only negative was that two nights in this location was nowhere near enough!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzLuke
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage away from town”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Exactly what I needed for my Christmas break. A wonderful cottage with everything you could possibly need to self cater. Great walking available locally. Less than an hour to the Cairngorms for skiing.

Mairi is a wonderful host. Very friendly and we were supplied with some fresh eggs from the farm the day we arrived.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet of being away from town.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atcook
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

I stayed at the Wildhaven Cottage whilst working for the Scottish National Heritage in Inverness. The accommodation was superb, it had everything you could possibly want, a comfortable bedroom, a well equipped kitchen, freeview TV, DVD player and of course fabulous views. The owner Mairi is very friendly and extremely helpful and penny the dog is just a big softy. It is remote and very quiet, don't expect to be able to walk to the nearest pub. The only slight issue that I had was that the property is about a mile up a private track, therefore not easy to find and there is no sign from the road and you will find it very hard to get a mobile phone signal from the village. As a tip i would suggest you either print out all the directions from the website or phone ahead to get directions. I would certainly recommend this place, i don't think you will be disappointed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing