We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Relaxing atmosphere, Good cocktails and Best Goat Curry by far”
Review of Sugar Dumplin

Sugar Dumplin
Ranked #668 of 2,633 Restaurants in Glasgow
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Booked this on a 5pm deal and went with my flatmate on a Sunday evening, the atmosphere was relaxed as it was quiet when we went and the decor has that laid back vibe not a typical restaurant scene that people look for but i prefer the laid back vibe. We were sat fairly quickly and ordered cocktails, the waitress showed us on the menu what was available with our deal, i ordered the corn and plantain fritters to start and my flatmate had calamari, for mains we had Goat Curry for me and Jerk Chicken and plantain fries for the flatmate. The starters arrived fairly quickly and looked and tasted amazing, the dips that were accompanying the starters ranged in spices and taste, so of course you had to try them all. So after starters another cocktail got ordered and then soon after the mains arrived the Goat Curry was amazing and surprisingly quite spicy but was delicious and the portions were more than adequate for both mains. I highly recommend anyone wanting to try Caribbean for the first time to go to Sugar Dumplin and try the Goat Curry.

Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarDumplinPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Dumplin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Hi Jess D,

Cheers for your kind words! We enjoy our little corner of princes square and are glad you did too! The curry goat is definitely solid favourite, were so stoked you enjoyed it.

mad love
sugar d management team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016

We bought a 5pm Big Deal voucher for a sharing platter for 2 and called one Saturday morning to book for the afternoon. The restaurant itself is decorated really well, but honestly I think this is more of a bar than a restaurant. Our voucher included chicken wings(really good), spicy chips(bit soggy and no spice), dumplings of your choice(we weren't given a choice and the dumplings had the strangest foam-like tasteless filling, no idea if it was meat or veg!), ribs(tasty), and rice with black beans(no seasoning, tasteless)along with 4 different sauces, all nice. The length of time waiting on our food was unacceptable, at least 25 minutes, we had finished our beers before our food even arrived. We thought about ordering cocktails afterwards but the barman was constantly making cocktail after cocktail and we didn't fancy another long wait, I think they need more staff on the bar and in the kitchen and less hosts who seemed to be standing about chatting most of the time. We can't really complain considering how cheap the voucher was but I don't think I'd have been happy to pay full price considering most of the food was very bland. Would go back for cocktails as the menu and atmosphere is good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MichelleMGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarDumplinPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Dumplin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Hi MichelleMGlasgow,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. The tear n share you guys had is a wee sampling of our starters, though were a little confused by the dumplings comment, as they aren't filled? if you were expecting chinese dumplings perhaps? But ours are doughy fried balls of goodness. We apologise you felt your wait time was too long for a Saturday. Were glad you are willing to give us another go and enjoyed the atmosphere.

mad love
sugar d management team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

A true hidden gem tucked away in the the corner of Princes Square. After discovering Sugar Dumplin very pleased with the service provide all staff very friendly. A good and varied menu we both ordered jerk chicken wrap with sweet potatoe fries and it both found the meal very tasty. Good selection selection of cocktails with deals on a selection of cocktails. A good variety of Caribbean beers and spirits.

The atmosphere and decor of the restraunt give it a relaxing and authentic Caribbean vibe. We will definitely visit again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ela03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarDumplinPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Dumplin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Hi ela03,


cheers for your kind words! We like our little corner of princes square, turn the corner, and BAM!! youre in another world :). next time your passing through stop by an say hey!

mad love
sugar d management team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

I have seen so many Caribbean cooker shows and I wanted to try jerk cooking and the food at the sugar dumpling failed the jerk ed spare ribs were bland no seasoning and no jerk seasoning.
The curry goat was basically stewed goat with some spices added
The rice and peas was totally bland
I honestly feel that the cooks were not tasting the food.
On the positive the waiting staff were very helpful and the decor is reasonable

Thank grapeape971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarDumplinPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Dumplin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Hi grapeape971,

thanks for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. Though we are saddened to hear you didn't enjoy your meal. if this is something you would like to discuss further, please contact us directly at ps@sugardumplin.co.uk.

mad love
sugar d management team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Terrible food, unbearably slow service and disinterested staff. The amount of effort I'm putting in to this review equals the amount of effort put in by this restaurant during my visit.
The End.

Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarDumplinPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Dumplin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Hi Susan R,

thanks for taking the time to leave us this review, though i am saddened as this is not the standard we hold ourselves to. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact us directly at ps@sugardumplin.co.uk.

mad love
sugar d management team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar Dumplin also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Sugar Dumplin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing