We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super meal”
Review of Piccolo Mondo

Piccolo Mondo
Ranked #56 of 2,690 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 0 - USD 32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Anderston
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We visited on Saturday night for the first time. The restaurant seems quite small from the outside, but opens into a lovely high-ceilinged space inside. We had the XS Inclusive menu and it was fabulous. We started with a Bellini and a Prosecco cocktail, before both enjoying the Frito Misto for staters. A basket of fresh bread was put on the table, along with butter. Our main course was the Seafood platter.......wow!! So much beautiful fresh seafood. We shared a sweet and cheese. It was all so good and the staff are so welcoming and efficient, whilst being friendly and joking.
We’ll be back!

Thank quine19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilio P, Owner at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for your very detailed review.

We really appreciate your kind words on the quality of the dishes you ordered and the quality of the service you received.

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

One of the better Italian meals I have ever had. Kitchen open late in a city where food stops before 9pm. Outstanding food and service. Pasta was perfect al dente. Veal was delicious. Two separate couples ordered a wide variety of courses and all were very impressed. Decent wine list. Very good value for a high quality, reasonably priced meal. Great spot for travelers comfort food.

Thank tchout02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilio P, Owner at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We really appreciate the high praise you have given in your review.

Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Went here on Wednesday what a hidden gem fabulous.
We had the celebration menu great value at £30.00 a head
For this you get an aperitif of your choice a starter main and dessert
Tea or coffee biscuit and chocolate italian liquer and a bottle of wine .
The food was great service great this is going to be my favourite place to come to when i am in glasgow.keep up the good work .
And you get a loyalty card what more could you ask for .
Thank you for a great night .

Thank ElaineR697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilio P, Owner at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Hi Elaine,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us when you're in Glasgow. I'm pleased you found our Celebration Menu great value.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

This place is a wee gem. The food was top notch as was the service. My wife and I had lunch with stuffed mushrooms and mussels to start with Capri chicken and Milanese chicken for mains. The Capri chicken was amazing, definite star of the show. We had a few drinks with these and the bill was £50. Unbelievable value for the standard of food served up. Do yourself a big favour and give it a go and I’m sure you will not be disappointed.

Thank John C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilio P, Owner at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Hi John,

Thank you for a great review and recommendation.
You picked some of our most popular dishes. We hope to see you again to try the rest of our menu options.

Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

There you can find the atmosphere and the warmth and friendship that you can expect from an Italian place. The menu is based on classic dishes from Italian cuisine with, of course, the influence of the area and thus good beef and extremely good salmon. Pasta is well cooked, never too much. The cost is fair. The environment is a little bit old fashioned but still warm.
We have been in other Italian restaurants in Glasgow but this one has thebst balance between quality, warmth and cost

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarcoK9649LR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilio P, Owner at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you, Marco.

We work hard to create a great atmosphere that matches our traditional Tuscany dishes, so thank you for mentioning this.

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piccolo Mondo also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing