We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

NY AMERICAN GRILL BAR
Ranked #621 of 2,692 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: NY American grill boasts the famous Josper Grill to give a unique a smoky flavour to our steaks, homemade burgers, chicken and fish dishes. With dishes from east coast to west, taking in the deep south, there is someone to suit everyone! Locally sourced ingredients all freshly made inhouse with gluten free options, lunch menu and children welcome!
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Tried this place for the first time and really enjoyed it. I had the jerk chicken burger which was great and my friend enjoyed the cheeseburger. There was also a wide range of cocktails to choose from which were delicious. Staff also very polite and friendly!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Glasgow-lass89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2017

An OK lunch option but neither cheap (nor expensive, to be fair), nor really special. We have the hot dog (it was tasty but it was just a hot dog) and the vege burger. Both were perfectly nice but there was no wow factor. Probably would not come again give the choice around but equally would not avoid.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Arl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Me and my friends arrived at 7.45 on thurs 21st Dec to a pretty quiet restaurant. Never the less place looked lovely, Christmas crackers on the table and drinks were ordered. Then the starters came. Four of the seven of us ordered the goats cheese salad (with red onion and candied pecan nuts). All four were disappointed. Visually you could see only salad leaves and a few pieces of goats cheese, and all four confirmed that was in fact all that was there. When we mentioned this to our server she acknowledged the point we had made and nothing more, took the plates away and no feedback was given once she had been into the kitchen or excuse was made as to why this was. Moving onto the main course. Two of us ordered steaks (for which there is a £5 supplement) one medium, one medium/rare. When they arrived, they were both ‘well done’. However after the fact we had complained about our starters and got nowhere - what was the point in bringing this up? Now dessert, four of us ordered ice cream which came with chocolate sauce. Needless to say, our ice cream was missing the sauce element and when we said something, we were brought a little pot to share between us. Also the poached pear with ginger crumb, had no ginger crumb. It was then we noticed the only other table (sitting next to us) receive their ice creams in not only a tall sundae glass (which we did not get) but with chocolate sauce....

When we received our bill with an added 10% service charge, we decided to speak to someone again to remove the service charge. The girl we spoke to sadly got the brunt of everything even though she had not been serving us at all. She did apologise several times and remove the service charge as we had asked but gave excuses like they had ran out of a few ingredients, had a busy weekend etc. Seems like the ingredients missing could have been easily purchased ahead of dinner service or servers could advise customers of this prior to ordering?

I’d like at add that the ladies toilets were a mess - blue paper towels and toilets rolls all over the floor and sinks and clear bin bags full of rubbish were sitting at the doorway of the kitchen for all customers to see. This was only 10 at night.

I realise individually these issues are not a big deal however combining them in one sitting with my closest friends on our Christmas night out was really disappointing.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

Came across this restaurant on the off chance and glad we did. Food really nice, and a good choice of drinks!! Recommend trying the spiced pear mojito. Staff friendly and happy to help

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank zwsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

This was our first time in here and thought we would give it a try, we where just in for a quick bite to eat in between Christmas shopping. We both ordered the Chicken and seafood jambalaya. Glad we did, it was very tasty and a decent amount of seafood in it. (Clams/mussels/king prawns/ shrimp) very tasty and full of flavour. Staff really bubbly and friendly and it felt like they really enjoyed their job and seemed passionate about the food and service.
Lots of other good options on the menu that we would love to try so will have to return!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Jckhaugh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NY AMERICAN GRILL BAR also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to NY AMERICAN GRILL BAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing