We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alamo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alamo Guest House
Ranked #2 of 38 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Our stay here was overall very good. The hostess was very friendly and answered all our questions very well. She also provided us with maps and information on the city.
The room was spacious and comfortable. It was not en-suite, which was made known to us before purchasing. However there was a sink and mirror in the room which we appreciated. The only downfall was that our DVD player did not work.
The breakfast was very tasty and satisfying. They had plenty of food and in variety as well. Overall, one of the better places we have stayed in Scotland!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank footballbabe2033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    104
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
107
320
62
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Vic Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We had a wonderful room looking toward the Kelvingrove Gallery and Museum. It was wonderfully decorated and fitted with many wondrous pieces of technology, more than we needed for sure. Only drawback was that there was no shower cubicle, just an open bath that you sit in and shower. Wonderful linen and good toiletries added to the appeal. I like baked beans at breakfast and was disappointed they weren't available in any of the warmers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed at the Alamo recently for my first visit to Glasgow for a stag golf weekend and was very impressed. A perfect location in the West end of Glasgow with very comfortable rooms and beautiful decor. The staff were very friendly and breakfasts spectacular. The perfect location for anyone visiting Glasgow.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjDitoSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

My sister and I recently stayed here for one night at both ends of our visit to the Hebrides . It is a perfect place to stay if you want good location to food , parks and museum ( and auto rental )
Steve and Emma were pleasant and very helpful. The building is in a very quiet location and is an old gem that they have restored . The rooms are all beautiful to look at and our room, #4- was large enough for the two of us with a queen bed and a twin bed. The room was clean , the beds and linens comfortable. Our room was en suite with great hot water and shower. There are plenty of other bathrooms in the hallway to accommodate those rooms that are not. We found the breakfast more than enough with a variety of fruit, cereals, yogurt,juice, and also eggs, bacon, sausage if one is a heavier eater.
There is a variety of restaurants in the area and also a handful of small shops to pick up snacks .
This is definitely a gem of a place and I look forward to staying here again if I am ever in Glasgow.
Thank you!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sorrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed there May 2012. The single rooms are compact but adequate for traveller. Hyper clean and modern bathrooms and help yourself breakfasts to die for. Perfectly located for West End Glasgow.
Manager Kristina went out of her way to help me and Katya was cheerfully friendly

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Guest House

Property: Alamo Guest House
Address: 46 Gray Street | Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow G3 7SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price range (per night): $113 - $257
Hotel Class:3 star — Alamo Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamo is a friendly family run Guest House overlooking Glasgow’s Kelvingrove Park with views of Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, as well as Glasgow University, in the near distance. This elegant 1870 Victorian building is within easy walking distance (3 - 20 minutes) of the main 3 areas of Glasgow; The City Centre (Glasgow School of Art, Modern Art Gallery, theatres, etc), The West End (Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Glasgow University, Kelvin Hall, etc), Riverside (S.E.C.C. etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Alamo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Alamo Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing