We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for making 50th birthday special!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #47 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 30 January 2011

My husband and I with four friends stayed at end of November to celebrate my 50th birthday. We had a fantastic time. My husband had contacted the hotel to say it was my birthday and queried the possibility of a bigger room - we were given one but were still close to our friends, which was ideal. There was also a 50th birthday card - a really nice touch. Dinner on the Friday night was included in the package and I don't think any of the six of us had a fault with any of our courses. The breakfasts were a good choice of hot or cold - liked the fact that toast was brought to the table by staff who were continually going round the dining room. Sunday morning was a bit hectic and the six of us were unable to get a table together - but close enough to speak to each other. It started to snow heavy during breakfast and leaving the car park was an 'experience'. Our friends were heading home and my husband and I stayed in Glasgow a third night - but moved to the Millennium - BIG MISTAKE! Wished we had stayed on at Menzies and will definitely be back. Thank you for making a special weekend extra special!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwdumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review, I was delighted that you had a very enjoyable 50th with us and thank for your kind comments about the little extra touches. I was pleased to read that you were impressed with your dining experience and the cuisine and I have passed your thanks to the Brasserie team and my Head Chef Richard Lyth,

It was very pleasing to read your positive feedback, and comments in relation to the friendliness of the staff. I will ensure that my team share in your kind praise.

Once again many thanks for your kind review and I hope to meet you on your next visit to the hotel

Kind regards

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,982 - 1,986 of 2,271 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2011

My husband and I travelled to this hotel with 4 other couples for my birthday weekend you must go to this hotel,right from start as you enter Brian is there to greet you, no problems with checkin.Rooms are spacious and really clean.Our meal on our first night was first class even got champers from management for our table,all service in restaurant was efficient and all staff were smiling.Brian (at front of reception ) very helpful of telling our group where to go for Glasgow night life.
next morning breakfast was first class again lots to choose from and again same staff as night previous smiling and very helpful.
All my friends and i went to swimming pool, steam room,sauna.jaquzzi i must also thanks girls in beauty room who gave my 2 friends and myself a massage thanks girls.
We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely hotel i highly recommend it for a great weekend with first class service.Thanks Menzies hotel you made a birthday weekend soo special and we will all be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophiagrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review, I was very pleased to read that you had a very enjoyable 50th with us and we exceeded your expectations in every department. It was very pleasing to read your positive feedback, and comments in relation to the friendliness of the staff. I will ensure that my team share in your kind praise.

I was also delighted that your experience in the Brasserie for dinner and breakfast was excellent and I will ensure the Brassiere and Kitchen teams share in your praise and I will pass on your kind comments to the girls in the Savannah spa for the pampering experience.

Once again many thanks for your kind review and I hope to meet you on your next visit to the hotel

Kind regards

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Staff very friendly and efficient. Check in quick. Rooms huge, with plenty of storage. Comfy beds. Bathroom decent size with good water pressure in shower. Bar area spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was great and we had dinner in the brasserie one night, which was really delicious. Used the pool and steam room, which were also very clean and worth a visit. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying here the next time I'm in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Packupyertroubles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your excellent review, I was delighted that you had a great stay with us and I have passed on your feedback to my team. I was pleased to read that from the moment you checked in that we exceeded your expectations and you made use of all the facilities in the hotel.

Thanks you also for your kind comments in regard our Wave Leisure Club and your room.

I do hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back to Glasgow

Kind regards

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Stayed for our Wedding anniversary and found hotel offered a good 2 day package, and was within easy walking distance of Glasgow Central train station and City shops.

Hotel had friendly staff, especially Russell who booked us in / out (arranging a nice upgrade for our stay). Although we didn’t use pool area looked nice, but would certainly recommend a evening meal as this was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveNorthLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your great review. I am delighted you enjoyed your anniversary with us and that Russell was able to upgrade you for this special occasion.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your dining experience in the Brasserie and I have passed on your great feedback to my team.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back to Glasgow in the near future.

Kind regards

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We booked special weekend away at Menzies. We PAID for an suite but what they forgot to tell us was a party was going on across the hall until 1am!!!!!!! Oh we could move to a lower standard room so we could at least sleep and yes get a discount (to a normal rate) BUT that totally misses the point. OUR special weekend meant nothing to them. Just want our cash. DISGUSTING.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CononKazakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2011

Thank you very much for your feedback in relation to your stay and please accept my sincere apologies for the issues that you experienced with your stay.

I did try to contact you directly through the site to learn to speak to you directly to apologise for the room allocation – from investigation it appears that my team were trying to upgrade you as the room you had previously being allocated had developed a fault which meant it was unavailable and the hotel was fully booked and therefore you were re-allocated one of our luxury apartments – these rooms are not normally affected by noise, however following your review I have asked that the profiles are updated for the future.

I do hope that you will re-consider returning to the hotel in the future and would ask that you contact me directly at philip.mellor@menzieshotels.co.uk should you have a requirement so that I may ensure your total satisifaction.

Kind regards

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 93 in Glasgow
2,055 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 93 in Glasgow
3,524 reviews
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#41 of 93 in Glasgow
1,671 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $105 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing