We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for travellers on a budget”
Review of Queens Park Hotel

Queens Park Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queens Park Hotel
Ranked #87 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for travellers on a budget”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We travel to Scotland quite regularly and as we're on a tight budget we're always looking online for cheap deals. This was the first time we'd stayed at Queens Park and as you'd expect for a budget hotel, the rooms are very basic but they're clean and comfortable enough. The location is good too, plenty of on-street free parking outside the hotel overlooking a lovely park and it's only a 5-minute walk to Queens Park Station where there are regular trains taking just a few minutes into Glasgow Central. There are also shops, pubs and eating places nearby though it did look a bit of a rough area if you prefer something more upmarket. Our room was quite small but had everything we needed and at £35 for two of us for the night was great value.
On the downside, I was woken up by a group of people coming in making a lot of noise in the early hours, but once they'd passed our door I never heard any more noise. We've stayed in lots of cheap hotels and late night noise seems to go with the territory so we half expected it. The hotel is supposed to have wi-fi in all the rooms but we couldn't get it to work in our room for some reason and the shower was not great but it could have been much worse. There was a breakfast left outside our door - cereal and milk, fruit juice and biscuits, which was a nice start to the day.
All in all, the good things about the hotel much outweighed the bad. If I'd paid a lot of money for the room then I would have been annoyed about noisy guests, lack of wi-fi etc, but at the price we paid I was more bothered that the beds and the room was clean which they were, so I would definitely book again if we were staying in that area of Glasgow.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bunny42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    27
    7
    3
    19
See reviews for
7
18
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I stayed at the Queens Park Hotel on 01/05/2012. Spotless room, comfy bed, tea, coffee and biscuits and a breakfast bag in the morning. great value at £25. Next time I'm in Glasgow that's where I'll be.
Bill Price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billprice356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

A really nice place to stay.
Rooms are small, can't find any lockers, cozy launge, good showers, cold breakfast under the door in the morning, really nice personal, fine beds and a good place to sleep. A bit far from the centre.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panic_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Great Staff, Room was good, Breakfast was sufficient. I dont understand the bad reviews this hotel does mre than it says on the tin (..budget..) I recommend it and will be staying again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This hotel/hostel is very good value for money. I have used the hostel part, sharing a 2 bed dorm, plus as a hotel, booking a private single. Both were good experiences. There is a common room where you can make use of the kitchen facilities (microwaves, kettles), plus comfy lounge with flat screen tv. FREE wifi too. My rooms were comfortable, fresh, clean linen and towels. The beds were comfortable. The hostel part was noisier (which is to be expected with young people). My private single room was located on the top floor and have to say how much more quiet it was than the usual hotels I have stayed (Travelodge, Etap). Room equipped with tea making facilities and tv/freeview. Was able to use wifi in room too. Breakfast is basic (cereal, juice, milk, biscuits), but for the price is excellent value! All in all a good experience. Will return. Location is 3 miles from central Glasgow, easy access via train or bus. On outskirts of a lovely large park.

Room Tip: This is a hostel come hotel, with dorm rooms in the basement area so bear in mind when booking rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazydaisyglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Number 10 Hotel
#27 of 95 in Glasgow
742 reviews
South Side
Travelodge Glasgow Paisley Road Hotel
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 95 in Glasgow
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Orchard Park Hotel
#65 of 95 in Glasgow
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Park Hotel

Property: Queens Park Hotel
Address: 10 Balvicar Drive, Glasgow G42 8QT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Hotel Class:2 star — Queens Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Park Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing