We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has its downsides but much better than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Ranked #46 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
GreenLeadersBronze level
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Has its downsides but much better than I expected”
Reviewed 24 March 2012 via mobile

I stayed here one night on business and wasn't at all happy when I got to the hotel. It's in a grim road and the upstairs corridors are shabby with scuffed paintwork and tired carpets. The rooms are basic in the extreme. However, having spent the night I had changed my opinion. The location is central and good restaurants are within walking distance, but there are no noisy bars nearby (a police station is opposite, so this is reassuring when parking your car outside on the street). The reception staff were lovely, and very helpful. I have had far worse welcomes in 5 star hotels. The room was spotlessly clean, had an excellent shower and was very quiet. The bed was comfy. Continental breakfast was good. Overall very good value.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveller_constant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your comments onto the site.

I am delighted that after your first impressions you recognised the other benefits we have to offer. I will share your views witht he team here.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the future to Ibis Glasgow.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    709
    331
    79
    60
See reviews for
157
617
179
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Largs
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed for 2 nights with friends from Aberdeen. It is the first time we have visited Glasgow as tourists (Iwork there). We regularly stay in Ibis hotels, as we find them good quality and good value. This is one on the best. Friendly, helpful staff, good sized room and excellent bathroom with powerful shower. Good location, 2 minutes from Sauchiehall Street. Only complaint was the hard mattress.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairliered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear Fairliered

Thank you for your comments, you will be glad to know that Ibis listen to allt he comments we receive and all the hotels throughout the world will be changing to a new standard of bed.

I am glad you enjoyed your weekend in Glasgow and I do hope you will come again.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed as a couple, 16th - 19th March 2012.

Good - Check in swift. Room immaculate, great size and well appointed. Extremely comfortable bed, clean fresh linen. En-suite a good size also, best shower ever with a really powerful force. Peaceful sleep, no hotel noise.

Bad - Front desk staff all extremely disinterested at all times. Not rude, just not friendly. Bar - lager fine at £3.10/pint. Asked for a white wine and soda - do not stock soda. Offered a bottle of sparkling water instead, ok. Then charged £7.20 for one small white wine and a bottle of water - extortionate! Needless to say did not drink in the hotel. Breakfast - whilst the fresh fruit, yoghurts, croissants, jam etc were all fine (well, how wrong can you go with cold food?), the hot "buffet breakfast" was a joke. Three large stainless steel lidded containers, not heated at all. First contained a cold congealed heap of fatty bacon. Second a cold heap of hard dried out sausages. Third a cold heap of semi-scrambled eggs. We were there at a reasonable time of 8am, considering that heap would still be on offer for another 2 hours I'm surprised nobody became ill. £7.50 each for breakfast??? SOOOO glad there was a Wetherspoon's just around the corner, full English breakfast, cooked fresh, for £3.10 each!

SUMMARY - great place to shower and sleep, but if you want friendly staff, reasonably priced drink and edible food, then you need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear Madam

Please let me apologise for the failings in our offering during your stay with us. I can assure you that we will improve and ensure this situation is not replicated.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and I do hope I can welcome you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shapinsay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The room was clean and everything what you need are there. Nice staff. Hotel clean and next to the town centre. The beds was comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel_orkney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Ibis Glasgow. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for giving us the opportunity.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for a place to stay overnight as we were attending a gig at The Garage on Sauciehall St. For the price we paid we weren't expecting too much, just hoping it was clean and comfortable. Our expectations were blown away as soon as we walked in the door. The room looked fantastic and made great use of the space. The bathroom was small but it included everything you'd expect. The shower was excellent, very spacious and nice and hot!

The bed was fine, and the television in the room had a jack cable to plug an iPod into which was very handy. The staff were very friendly and were more than happy to help.

Overall, the trip was made very pleasant by the stay in this hotel. We would both happily stay here again for a trip to central Glasgow and both said we have paid more money to stay in worse places. If I was to nit pick I would say the rooms aren't very sound proofed as we were woken by people talking and laughing in the corridor but that wasn't enough to ruin the stay :)

Scott

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceFisher, General Manager at Ibis Glasgow City Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for your kind comments, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I do hope I can look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards

Janice Fisher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 95 in Glasgow
1,108 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#44 of 95 in Glasgow
1,566 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Glasgow City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Glasgow City Centre

Property: Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Address: 220 West Regent Street, Glasgow G2 4DQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Glasgow
#40 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price range (per night): $80 - $172
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Glasgow City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Glasgow hotel is centrally located, between the business and shopping district. Just 2 streets away is Glasgow's famous Sauchiehall Street which has a wide selection of shops,bars & restaurants. The Buchanan Galleries & Princess Square are also within walking distance. The SECC Exhibition and Convention Centre is only 20 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is within easy reach of the M8 motorway, Queen Street, Charing Cross and Central Station and many more of the city's main attractions like Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Universities of Glasgow, Strathclyde and Caledonian, Kings Theatre, Pavillion Theatre, O2 Academy. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The hotel does not have a car park, however metered street parking is available which is free of charge after 6pm and before 8am. We also have a discount available for guests who use the City Car Park on Elmbank Street, £12 for 24 hours use. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant. Guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast, snacks available 24 hours per day or evening meals. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and internet. Residents can also use the gym, sauna and steam room facilities in the Novotel next door for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, ACCOR, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Glasgow City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Ibis
Ibis Glasgow City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing