We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The quintessential Scottish hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelvin Hotel
Ranked #71 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The quintessential Scottish hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Kelvin is a lovely little hotel with a genuine family feel. Olde worlde friendliness and warmth, combine with spotlessly clean, well-presented rooms and bathrooms. Breakfast is served in the charming dining room, filled with nostalgia and gracious gentility. The hotel is close to the Kelvingrove Museum Glasgow University and well-placed for taxis to and from city centre. Te staff are kind, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. A little gem......

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dingtonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    107
    38
    25
    12
See reviews for
45
84
39
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Kelvin is a wonderful little B&B in a magnificent Georgian townhome in Glasgow's West End, just a five minute walk from Hillhead underground station. Lots of buses go by on adjacent Great Western and Byers Road. It has the added bonus of being just around the corner from the beautiful Glasgow Botanical Gardens.

The owners were most accommodating. Since I arrived on an early morning flight, I just needed to alert them to my arrival time and my room was ready at 9:00 am! I stayed in Room #10, an en-suite double on the first floor (second floor for you North Americans), that faces the back of the property. It was immaculately clean and very quiet, and I enjoyed watching the magpies build their nest in the huge tree in the back yard. The bathroom is a bit small, but clean as a whistle. Also, since I was not due to leave until 3:00 pm, I made arrangements with the owner to stay in the comfortable lounge after I checked out. It was no problem.

Breakfast is a choice of cold cereals, juice, fruit or you can order a cooked breakfast, along with coffee or tea. The dining room is bright and cheerful, with views over the street below.

I would definitely stay at The Kelvin again; clean, quiet, comfortable, and a good bargain to boot.

Room Tip: Room #10 is quiet, with large windows facing the back of property and away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jiggyrodents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

One of us spent two nights in the hotel itself and two of us spent several nights in the self-catering apartment-style accommodation. The staff are incredibly nice and helpful (they even accepted a package I had shipped there in advance); everything is spotlessly clean; the bedrooms are located in the quietest part of the house and the beds are firm and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanVanZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I along my wife stayed in this hotel.Very warm welcome by the host Miss Linda.Excellent privacy and very nice service.We were on a leisure visit from Pakistan and enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: You feel in this hotel as your home.Room facing road side are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAEED S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We were recommended to this hotel by a friend and found it excellent in service, decor and warmth of welcome. Our bedroom was clean, warm and comfortable. The breakfast was first class. We would recommend it to others and intend to return ourselves later this year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#72 of 95 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#59 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#73 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belhaven Hotel
#51 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#25 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Property: Kelvin Hotel
Address: 15 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8EB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
Price range (per night): $59 - $119
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelvin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelvin is a bed and breakfast in the heart of the vibrant West End of Glasgow. Parking can be reserved and free Wi-Fi is available. Bedrooms at The Kelvin are light and airy and are tastefully decorated in soft pastels. Some guest bedrooms have en-suite facilities, and all have a TV and vanity units with shaving points. A fully fitted, communal kitchen, equipped with kitchenware and utensils, is available to guests.The grand Victorian townhouse also offers free Wi-Fi in the guest lounge and in most bedrooms. The dining room boasts floor-to-ceiling windows and looks out onto the tree-lined Great Western Road. There are many shops located opposite the hotel and many bars and restaurants in the area.Glasgow International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the Kelvin, and the hotel is located just 2 miles from Glasgow Central Railway Station & 10miles from Glasgow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Wotif.com so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing