We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Flower House
Nearby Hotels
USD 242
USD 237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 229
USD 174
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 366
USD 354
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 315
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fraser Suites Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
USD 223
USD 201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
USD 302
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 239
USD 232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 144
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
USD 232
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
63
12
2
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
12
2
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2015

I stayed at The Flower House for over two weeks. My room was downstairs and next to the kitchen, for a tea or coffee. I had a beautiful view through the garden, and was able to work in my room - it really is a peaceful spot. There is one bathroom downstairs for the two downstairs bedrooms, and there was no issue with sharing - I hardly saw another guest during my entire stay (the bathrooms and kitchen are spotless). Breakfast was amazing - with fruit, yoghurt, cereal, coffee, juice and a hot meal - delicious! The Flower House is a great spot for visiting the remarkable and free Kelvingrove Gallery, and for access to the University of Glasgow - a lovely walk through Kelvingrove Park. There are a couple of great restaurants nearby (which featured in the Glasgow Food Festival), and a Tesco and Sainsbury very close by. I also walked into the heart of town in about half an hour. I felt right at home and appreciated Susan and Ian's warmth and hospitality - and when I come back to Glasgow again - I know where I'll be staying!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank kyliemc2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015

The exterior of the house is extremely pretty, this in a street otherwise totally unremarkable. The owners tried to encourage (with apparently some success) others to improve the front of their houses however, due to the duplicity of a councilor on the street, the other owners took all their 'greening' attempts down. There are two things to be aware of. The staircase is tortuously steep and cornered as well as narrow. Unless you are at least reasonably fit, you will never get yourself up and down the stairs (non-optional) never mind you luggage! The second point is that you will be charged for parking in the street, it is expensive and well worth checking with the owners what the current rate is prior to booking. This cost (only brought in with the games that were held in Glasgow) remains today as an avaricious money making scheme left in place since those games. The owners are friendly and helpful. Local food very good. If you hire a car you will almost certainly find that it is not supplied with a spare wheel. A puncture cost us most of a day to get repaired since all such repairs have to be sanctioned by the company hiring out the car.

Room Tip: Very good breakfasts, very expensive parking, very difficult stairway to lower ground floor
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

We stayed at the Flower House for 2 nights during a trip around Scotland. Our room was on the main floor and had a wonderful view of the back garden. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean and decorated with beautiful antiques. The bathroom is not ensuite, but was only two doors down from our bedroom. We did not have to share it with anyone during our stay. There is another bathroom downstairs with a shower that we also had access to. Again, we did not see anyone else and apparently on our second night we were the only guests. There was complimentary wifi and we had an excellent connection in our room. There is also a kitchen downstairs on the garden level where Susan and Ian let us keep a bottle of wine in the fridge and told us to feel free to make ourselves a cup of tea in the evening. Very handy!

The breakfast was really lovely and was served in our room on a tea tray. It was nice to sit and enjoy breakfast while looking out into the gorgeous gardens. Breakfast the first morning was bacon and fried egg, strawberries (so fresh and juicy!!), yogurt and tea and on the second morning Susan made us a delicious mushroom omelette.

The Flower House is about a 30min walk into the downtown area and is close to Kelvingrove Park and the University. There are many small shops in the area for coffee and shopping. There is no parking, but for £2 we got a visitors permit from Susan and Ian and a parking spot right out front.

We had an excellent stay at the Flower House, and we really enjoyed all the beautiful antiques that Susan and Ian have collected. Susan and Ian were both so kind and hospitable, and it was a pleasure to meet them both! We would certainly stay here again next time we are in Glasgow!

Room Tip: Staying on the main level was handy as we didn't have to carry our luggage up or down stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015 via mobile

We had the most wonderful time in this beautiful guesthouse .. The landlords are adorable - it's a pity we had to leave again.
The guesthose is located in the students area with lots of bars and restaurants, the shopping centre and train stations are very easy to reach.
What we loved most was the wonderful breakfast !! We will come again !! Thank you !!

Stayed: May 2015
2  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

So accommodating a great place to stay you wouldn't believe where you are and it is so quaint breakfast was lovely and such a suprise we even got strawberries this is a real treat couldn't ask for more
Will be back without a doubt

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ajz2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews