We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,162)
Filter reviews
1,163 results
Traveller rating
153
393
387
162
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
393
387
162
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorge squarerooms are smallwould stay here againexcellent locationqueen stshort stayreception staffbuffet stylebars and restaurantsthe heart of the cityweekend breaktwin roomstayed one nightcorinthia
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 1,163 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel overnight to attend a gig in glasgow. The room was so small you could barely move. The windows were filthy, there was no room to move around the bed to get to the toilet. The bed itself was on wheels and kept moving. The bathroom was also badly needing done up. The place looked dirty and the sink was leaking. Definitely not worth the money we paid for. Would never stay there again. If you are a tall person you would have no chance of being comfortable.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi Laurie C,

Thanks for the review.

Sorry you didn't like the hotel. We do have some compact rooms which is well publicised on TripAdvisor.

I will certainly be checking the bed, the windows and the sink as we would hope to be delivering a better standard for you.

Kind Regards

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Hotel is very dated, could do with some freshening up but, if its a basic & central hotel you want then its great! Rooms are small and very warm. Was all going well until we went for breakfast, was waiting at reception as requested by the sign to pass on our room number and the old lady was too busy sitting chatting rather than doing her job! Anyways passed on the number and told to take a seat anywhere - there weren't any! After one of the staff cleared a table we got a seat and went to get our breakfast. Its all buffet style but there were no eggs and no potato scones, I don't eat a full fry so this left me with sausage! Asked the girl behind the bar if these were going to be replaced to be told 'the cook will be out soon to check' which is great when there is nothing! Anyways about 10 mins later one of the staff brought out some eggs and they did bring me a couple over, these were swiftly sent back as there were not cooked! Back in the room and housekeeping chapped the door at 10.30 am despite check out not being until 12 noon! So if you expect a bit of a lie in after a night out, don't! And it wasn't just our door, she chapped very room on the floor. When checking out these point were mentioned to the receptionist who did refund the breakfast charges but, could not answer as to why housekeeping was knocking doors of guests who had not checked out, any other hotel I have stayed in house keeping get a list, clearly not in here!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Prettypink30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hi Prettypink30,

My apologies you did not enjoy your breakfast.

I will be investigating your comments as this is not the standard we endeavour to offer good to hear the breakfast was refunded.

Also we do use lists so I am unsure why they would knock on the door, as a tip I would always use the do not disturb sign as this is what they are intended for.I will be asking our housekeeping team why they were knocking on doors.

Kind Regards

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

I phoned up a few days prior to checking in and spoke to Chris and he was extremely helpful with my booking request.

When we arrived, we had a quick check in with Niki who helped us organise our dinner date to eat in the hotel.

The room was beautiful, massive bed, the shower wasn't a standard trickle - it was a proper power shower, and a nice deep bath! Asked for an iron and ironing board and got it within minutes of asking.

As parents we were looking forward to a nice, peaceful meal, and that's exactly what we got. The food was unbelievable, our steaks were cooked to perfection and the portion was massive! Our servers were David and Stacey who were both very friendly and attentive.

After venturing out to the city centre - which is packed with loads of restaurants, we came back to the hotel around 1am. Our plan was to get a few drinks and head back up to the room but we stayed for longer at the bar than expected. Your nights team added to an already fabulous stay! David & Graeme on nights struck a great conversation with us at the bar making us feel comfortable and not a hinderance.

Overall, it was a fantastic stay. We'll definitely be back. The staff are a credit to your hotel.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Voyager756285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Great to hear you had a good break with us and thanks for giving the credit where credit is due to the team in the hotel.

Please come back and stay again soon.

Kind Regards

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Booked this on a whim after missing a flight due to bad weather conditions. The room was very disappointing and one of the smallest double hotel rooms I have ever stayed in and the first thing my 16 years old niece said on arrival was it was just like the Hostel Room where she stayed in France. The carpet was very dirty and stained, the bathroom walls were filthy and I found it difficult to shower under those conditions. The staff on the other were very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, General Manager at Mercure Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hi Marjay_12,

Thanks for the review and sorry to hear you didn't like the hotel.

The AA awarded us 3 stars as a hotel as opposed to a hostel.

Kind Regards

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews