We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and staff especially Craig”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #41 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
scotland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and staff especially Craig”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Just returned from dinner with my friend. Craig was wonderful and so was the food . Thank you all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottiewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your top rating of 5 and your fantastic review, Craig will especially be delighted with your comments.

I do hope we can welcome you and your friends back very soon!

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,532
    1,304
    564
    210
    134
See reviews for
406
1,691
173
648
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NB, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

From the 4-storey chandelier in the spiral staircase to the friendly staff, this is a charmingly elegant hotel. Newly renovated, it has high ceilings, well-proportioned rooms, and superbly comfortable beds. The hotel artwork includes old photographs of Glasqow Central Station. Some rooms overlook the station concourse. The bathrooms have heated towel rails for that added comfort. Excellent location, close to shops, restaurants, and the River Clyde. Very good food in the restaurant and a champagne bar! The bed and breakfast rate is an especially good deal.

The front desk staff and concierge are very helpful with directions and local information. If you need an airport cab, ask at the desk and save 5 pounds! My only concern was that the doors to guest rooms are very heavy and bang loudly when discourteous guests (and the occasional hotel staff member) do not close them carefully.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the train station if you don't mind hearing announcements during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Many thanks for your review, I am glad we were able welcome you to the Grand Central Hotel during your trip.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and a warm welcome awaits you should you be returning to Glasgow.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I stayed the one night at the end of May on business and found the hotel staff welcoming and friendly throughout and the hotel itself ideally cited to get around with all the usual facilities that you would expect. I was up on the 3rd floor with a room to the back of the hotel, so whilst away from any possible noise this was offset with a view over perhaps the sidings, but then I wasn't there to sight-see so not a major issue. Minor niggles were over the bath / shower, I couldn't readily see how to choose the former over the latter, and at breakfast there were no staff around to show you to your tables or explain the ropes. Neither issue however would prevent me staying again. Bedroom was spotless, decor throughout gave hints of the 1920's which I like and breakfast itself was good with choices to suit all palates.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodsySouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review and providing valuable feedback; I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London W1
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This was our 2nd stay in as many years, and how we noticed the difference! Service remains excellent and helpful, as does the fab champagne bar, however maintaining this building must be like the "Forth Road Bridge" with a never ending maintenance plan, which I'm sure exists, however is not self evident.

The public areas are already looking tired, despite the excellent army of cleaners, and our room 409 (Executive) had a stained ceiling from a water leak. A massive bathroom with only a bath (shower in the bath), toilet and single basin, was disappointing and seemed as if the designers had used as little thought as possible, as cheaply as possible. Housekeeping was sporadic during our 2 night stay, with toiletries not replenished, half hearted turn-down: rubbish left in room instead of being taken away.

A very strange WiFi system that allows you free access for 1/2 an hour then you have to log in again.....and again......and again!

Whilst this may sound a little nit picky, I don't mean it to be, it just highlights that it feels as if its lost its way a bit. It is a great building, incredibly convenient, coming straight off the London train and great character. it would be such a shame if they didn't stay on top of it, and whilst sympathetic to the current financial place we are in, to keep the beds filled, while offering good value, if the standard slip, there are always other hotels nearby.

We would stay again, and recommend you try it, but be aware that you might just be a little disappointed, rather than pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review and for your valuable feedback.

I am glad that you still found that our service was excellent and helpful although it is very disappointing the housekeeping and maintenance issues you experienced in your allocated room. Please be assured that your comments have been raised with the appropriate managers to investigate further, thank you for bringing these to our attention.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon to see the hotel at its very best once again.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

A good, well-staffed central Glasgow hotel, if a little dark and sombre on the interior decoration. The room on the 4th floor was spacious and clean with a good sized bathroom. The major drawback is the noise. Having stayed in the city on an uncharacteristically very hot May weekend, it was necessary to open windows (only a 2 inch allowance) There is no air-conditioning or even a fan. The noise from the street was terrible, with a base thudding from a local music venue till after 3pm on the Sunday morning. Great for Glasgow night-life but give it a miss if you desire a rest from the rigours of city life.

Room Tip: Ask for a known quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MjrfBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review.

I am glad you found the Grand Central to be central, well staffed with spacious rooms although due to our prime location external noise levels can be expected especially at weekends. During May we did experience very hot weather temperatures whilst beautiful, this did make it very clammy and uncomfortable at times for us all, although we do have portable fans as well as heaters available on request via reception.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price range (per night): $143 - $356
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing