We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Central Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 330*
USD 321*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 318*
USD 258*
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fraser Suites Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
USD 187*
USD 152*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
USD 255*
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 208*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 394*
USD 316*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
USD 168*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 207*
USD 202*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 220*
USD 213*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 267*
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,320)
Filter reviews
4,320 results
Traveller rating
1,777
1,499
638
245
161
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,777
1,499
638
245
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne bartempus restauranttrain stationchampagne centralgordon streettaxi rankhope streetjunior suitetravelling by trainlovely hotelstreet noiselovely roomstandard rooman overnight stayhaggisstayed for one nightcentre of glasgow
Filter
Updating list...
3,682 - 3,687 of 4,320 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2012

From the 4-storey chandelier in the spiral staircase to the friendly staff, this is a charmingly elegant hotel. Newly renovated, it has high ceilings, well-proportioned rooms, and superbly comfortable beds. The hotel artwork includes old photographs of Glasqow Central Station. Some rooms overlook the station concourse. The bathrooms have heated towel rails for that added comfort. Excellent location, close to shops, restaurants, and the River Clyde. Very good food in the restaurant and a champagne bar! The bed and breakfast rate is an especially good deal.

The front desk staff and concierge are very helpful with directions and local information. If you need an airport cab, ask at the desk and save 5 pounds! My only concern was that the doors to guest rooms are very heavy and bang loudly when discourteous guests (and the occasional hotel staff member) do not close them carefully.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the train station if you don't mind hearing announcements during the day. It is quiet during the night. Do try the breakfast!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Many thanks for your review, I am glad we were able welcome you to the Grand Central Hotel during your trip.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and a warm welcome awaits you should you be returning to Glasgow.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I stayed the one night at the end of May on business and found the hotel staff welcoming and friendly throughout and the hotel itself ideally cited to get around with all the usual facilities that you would expect. I was up on the 3rd floor with a room to the back of the hotel, so whilst away from any possible noise this was offset with a view over perhaps the sidings, but then I wasn't there to sight-see so not a major issue. Minor niggles were over the bath / shower, I couldn't readily see how to choose the former over the latter, and at breakfast there were no staff around to show you to your tables or explain the ropes. Neither issue however would prevent me staying again. Bedroom was spotless, decor throughout gave hints of the 1920's which I like and breakfast itself was good with choices to suit all palates.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoodsySouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review and providing valuable feedback; I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This was our 2nd stay in as many years, and how we noticed the difference! Service remains excellent and helpful, as does the fab champagne bar, however maintaining this building must be like the "Forth Road Bridge" with a never ending maintenance plan, which I'm sure exists, however is not self evident.

The public areas are already looking tired, despite the excellent army of cleaners, and our room 409 (Executive) had a stained ceiling from a water leak. A massive bathroom with only a bath (shower in the bath), toilet and single basin, was disappointing and seemed as if the designers had used as little thought as possible, as cheaply as possible. Housekeeping was sporadic during our 2 night stay, with toiletries not replenished, half hearted turn-down: rubbish left in room instead of being taken away.

A very strange WiFi system that allows you free access for 1/2 an hour then you have to log in again.....and again......and again!

Whilst this may sound a little nit picky, I don't mean it to be, it just highlights that it feels as if its lost its way a bit. It is a great building, incredibly convenient, coming straight off the London train and great character. it would be such a shame if they didn't stay on top of it, and whilst sympathetic to the current financial place we are in, to keep the beds filled, while offering good value, if the standard slip, there are always other hotels nearby.

We would stay again, and recommend you try it, but be aware that you might just be a little disappointed, rather than pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review and for your valuable feedback.

I am glad that you still found that our service was excellent and helpful although it is very disappointing the housekeeping and maintenance issues you experienced in your allocated room. Please be assured that your comments have been raised with the appropriate managers to investigate further, thank you for bringing these to our attention.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon to see the hotel at its very best once again.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

A good, well-staffed central Glasgow hotel, if a little dark and sombre on the interior decoration. The room on the 4th floor was spacious and clean with a good sized bathroom. The major drawback is the noise. Having stayed in the city on an uncharacteristically very hot May weekend, it was necessary to open windows (only a 2 inch allowance) There is no air-conditioning or even a fan. The noise from the street was terrible, with a base thudding from a local music venue till after 3pm on the Sunday morning. Great for Glasgow night-life but give it a miss if you desire a rest from the rigours of city life.

Room Tip: Ask for a known quiet room!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MjrfBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to review.

I am glad you found the Grand Central to be central, well staffed with spacious rooms although due to our prime location external noise levels can be expected especially at weekends. During May we did experience very hot weather temperatures whilst beautiful, this did make it very clammy and uncomfortable at times for us all, although we do have portable fans as well as heaters available on request via reception.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Lovely hotel and very reasonably priced for the centre of Glasgow. We spent one nights stay in the hotel for a concert in March 2012. We were greeted very warmly on arrival and the staff at reception were very helpful. We spent most of the day in the Champagne Bar which was lovely, and once again the staff couldn't do enough to make you happy. I have a wheat allergy and they even made me up a sandwhich after their lunch menu was no longer in service as I couldn't eat any of the food on the night time menu. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and they had a lovely breakfast spread with various different things to choose from. Over all a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtinytravellerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review and for choosing to stay with us during your trip to the City Centre for a concert!

It is pleasing to read that you experienced the Grand Central at its very best, our Champagne Bar Manager and our team will be very encouraged by your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews