We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very funky, huge beds, small rooms”
Review of citizenM Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Glasgow
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Really cool place right in the centre of town. Great shared area and a 24 hour cafe and bar. Very comfortable huge beds but the rooms are small and the facilities are 'intimate' so go with a good friend if you are sharing! The mood lighting, blinds, TV and air con are all controlled by one remote and ours wasn't working properly so the technology was a bit frustrating but it was sorted out for us by the friendly staff and the novelty value made it a real experience. Like sleeping in your own (slighly over heated) pod on a space station. Breakfast was OK. The real star is the funky interiors but the staff are nice. Better than a Travelodge any day! Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,077 - 4,081 of 5,325 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

Absolutely loved our two nights at Citizen M. The rooms were fun and well-designed with everything I would expect from a four-star (hairdryer, nice bedding, good towels, toiletries I actually wanted to use). They haven't gone for style at the expense of comfort and there were several touches which made this a really cool stay.

The staff were lovely, and were there to help if needed, but were unobtrusive, something which I think many modern travellers prefer. They were there just enough to be helpful but in a hotel like this you avoid those unnecessary linger-for-tips moments. We had great cocktails and cupcakes from the self-service canteen bar (skipped breakfast but I'm sure it would have been great) and really enjoyed the mood-pad with music and films. The wifi was free and fast, the shower hot, and the bed excellent - all for a very fair price.

George Orwell would have had a field day with the name, and it was all a little bit 2001: A Space Odyssey when we woke up to remote-controlled views of the city, but in my book these are all good things! Bring on the Citizen M hotel revolution and I look forward to visiting the London one when it opens*.

*A note to the management: make sure your Glaswegian staff take the lead on all your training, they were excellent.

Room Tip: High floors make for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Litro_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Automated check-in/check-out made things smooth upon entry. Minimalist and functional furniture - not much space in the room because its not required! Great shower and comfy bed. Not sure about the value for money of the breakfast, particularly if you are vegetarian - the options were a bit low on the ground. Having said that, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SignorScience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Definitely worth a try. It is radically different from any in which I stayed. From the entry is transferred to another place :)) I loved the furniture. I can not forget breakfast :))
Only the rooms are small but everything else is amazing. Worth to see

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Todorov N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Very trendy room with a pod with a shower and an amazing bed with a great view over Glasgow (6th floor). Very fluffy towels. If one wanted to complain, one could say that the room was a bit small, and style comes at a price. For example there isn't a proper closet, and having the wash stand in the main room apart from the shower/ toilet is not completely practical. However, I was bowled over by the style and really enjoyed staying in a room that was very different to my home. Give it a shot when you're next in Glasgow, I think you'll be charmed!

Room Tip: Go for a high floor to get a Glasgow view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferry41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
873 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,353 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
4,037 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Glasgow

Address: Corner of Hope Street 60 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G2 3BW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#5 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $122 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Glasgow's city centre and Theatre District, citizenM Glasgow offers affordable luxury in the form of 198 modern non-smoking rooms. Enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free movies, high pressure rain showers and luxurious linens on an XL king-size bed; contemporary Vitra lobbies for work and play with free iMac access, and a 24/7 on-site eatery and bar to quench every hunger and thirst. CitizenM Glasgow also boasts SocietyM, which provides one-of-a-kind creative meeting spaces for 2 to 18 people, a larger screening room, audiovisual equipment, and reliable Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
CitizenM Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing