We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“modern, clean, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acorn Hotel
Ranked #40 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“modern, clean, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for a conference at the SECC which is an easy 15minute walk away. My room was modern, spotlessly clean, great shower and comfy bed and pillows. All I wanted for my stay. Bonus was hairdryer and hair straighteners in the room. There was no decaf coffee on the tea tray but I asked at reception and was given a plentiful supply from the kitchen. Both receptionists I spoke to were extremely professional and helpful with local information. I had 2 peaceful nights sleep and for the price felt it was very good value for money. The breakfast buffet was not as varied as you might get in a big hotel but all good quality and the freshly cooked breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay again. Almost forgot to mention the complimentary bottle of wine I received in arrival which was on offer at the time of booking!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diver264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    144
    42
    13
    6
See reviews for
22
149
51
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

had a brill night here room spotless shower was not hot just warm but good donald was so helpful and full of information and his breakfast was one of the best i have ever had thank you

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Modern hotel, good location and cheap price. I paid £60 for room only and wasn't disappointed.

GHD's in room, tea and coffee, modern power shower, clean and tidy and friendly staff. Can't ask for more for the price.

Walls seem quite thin as could hear next door a little but this is just a minor point.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Senttocoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Hey there.
Firstly, starting with good points, that mean: the location, nice staff, clean towels, hot water.
Secondly, this is not as far as a four starts hotel. Worth for the money, though. Moreover, they stop the heating at 10 pm. So during this period expect to be cold at night in your room. Unless you tell them that you move to other hotel, which we did tell them, so they kept the heat on for other 3 nights, all night. A second bad part is that they do not change your sheets. They only do that if you stay 7 days. I consider it a minus for a so called 4 starts hotel. You do not have a fridge or an iron machine. The bed: if you are more than 1.80... your feet are out of bed!! super pillows though. Hope you enjoy it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alina_Stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel is really fantastic! It's located near enough to Sauchiehall that you can walk right to the bars, but it's far enough away that it is quiet at night.
The hotel is so clean, which is SO important to me. The hallways smelled like lemon... I know that sounds odd.
The room was fantastic. It was clean, spacious, and bright. There was a straightener and a hair dryer with plenty of outlets. The shower was really fantastic, as well. The beds were soo comfortable.
The gentleman at the front desk was AMAZING. He was very kind and carried mine and my friend's bag up to the second floor and then carried them back down to our taxi as we were getting ready to leave. His great service would probably be one of the main reasons why this hotel deserves a 5 star rating.
The only thing this hotel was lacking was a lift. And honestly... it wasn't that big of a deal. I could do with or without a lift. But, if somebody has trouble walking the stairs this hotel is not for you.
I would absolutely stay here again, and I probably will end up doing so. I've been to Glasgow before and this is absolutely the best value for my money, I would highly suggest it.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the walk up the stairs try to get to the second floor. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciaMonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#59 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Albion Hotel
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Property: Acorn Hotel
Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price range (per night): $79 - $135
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing