We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern, clean, great location”
Review of Acorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acorn Hotel
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for a conference at the SECC which is an easy 15minute walk away. My room was modern, spotlessly clean, great shower and comfy bed and pillows. All I wanted for my stay. Bonus was hairdryer and hair straighteners in the room. There was no decaf coffee on the tea tray but I asked at reception and was given a plentiful supply from the kitchen. Both receptionists I spoke to were extremely professional and helpful with local information. I had 2 peaceful nights sleep and for the price felt it was very good value for money. The breakfast buffet was not as varied as you might get in a big hotel but all good quality and the freshly cooked breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay again. Almost forgot to mention the complimentary bottle of wine I received in arrival which was on offer at the time of booking!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diver264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 411 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

had a brill night here room spotless shower was not hot just warm but good donald was so helpful and full of information and his breakfast was one of the best i have ever had thank you

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Modern hotel, good location and cheap price. I paid £60 for room only and wasn't disappointed.

GHD's in room, tea and coffee, modern power shower, clean and tidy and friendly staff. Can't ask for more for the price.

Walls seem quite thin as could hear next door a little but this is just a minor point.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senttocoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Hey there.
Firstly, starting with good points, that mean: the location, nice staff, clean towels, hot water.
Secondly, this is not as far as a four starts hotel. Worth for the money, though. Moreover, they stop the heating at 10 pm. So during this period expect to be cold at night in your room. Unless you tell them that you move to other hotel, which we did tell them, so they kept the heat on for other 3 nights, all night. A second bad part is that they do not change your sheets. They only do that if you stay 7 days. I consider it a minus for a so called 4 starts hotel. You do not have a fridge or an iron machine. The bed: if you are more than 1.80... your feet are out of bed!! super pillows though. Hope you enjoy it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alina_Stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel is really fantastic! It's located near enough to Sauchiehall that you can walk right to the bars, but it's far enough away that it is quiet at night.
The hotel is so clean, which is SO important to me. The hallways smelled like lemon... I know that sounds odd.
The room was fantastic. It was clean, spacious, and bright. There was a straightener and a hair dryer with plenty of outlets. The shower was really fantastic, as well. The beds were soo comfortable.
The gentleman at the front desk was AMAZING. He was very kind and carried mine and my friend's bag up to the second floor and then carried them back down to our taxi as we were getting ready to leave. His great service would probably be one of the main reasons why this hotel deserves a 5 star rating.
The only thing this hotel was lacking was a lift. And honestly... it wasn't that big of a deal. I could do with or without a lift. But, if somebody has trouble walking the stairs this hotel is not for you.
I would absolutely stay here again, and I probably will end up doing so. I've been to Glasgow before and this is absolutely the best value for my money, I would highly suggest it.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the walk up the stairs try to get to the second floor. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliciaMonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#8 of 93 in Glasgow
996 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,261 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,413 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: AU$76 - AU$152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by renowned architect Alexander “Greek” Thomson, you’ll find Grecian pillars adorning our grand entranceway and up-to-date décor throughout. With 18 newly renovated rooms on offer, the Acorn Hotel provides a contemporary, relaxed environment for you to enjoy during your stay. Our stylish interior mixes fresh tones with classic, walnut touches and each room comes equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, complementary WiFi, satellite television and GHDs to complete a true home-away-from-home experience. We offer a range of room configurations including singles for the solo traveler and Executive or Super-King bedded rooms if you’d like to indulge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing