We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy, picturesque, felt like home.”
other travellers have booked this property
Steading Cottage St Andrews
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Steading Cottage St Andrews
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Steading Cottage St Andrews
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Steading Cottage St Andrews view from the Gazebo
View of the Garden from Bedroom 1 Juliet Balcony
Garden Gazebo
Steading Cottage St Andrews Garden
Garden
Garden
View from the Lounge Window
Lounge/Kitchen
Lounge and Dining Area
Bedroon 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 - Juliet Balcony
Bedroom 2
Family Bathroom
Shower
Towels and Bathrobes
Arrive to a glass of Wine
Steading Cottage St Andrews Winter Garden
St Andrews West Port
St Andrews Castle
St Andrews from The Cathedral Tower
St Andrews Cathedral
St Andrews West Port
East Neuk of Fife, Craig Harbour
St Andrews
Scoone Palace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian M
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cozy, picturesque, felt like home.”
Reviewed 5 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed here for 5 nights as a group of six people. A larger group than normally stays here, but we felt that it accommodated us comfortably. Everything is brand new, it is a tastefully done extension to the original steading. The furnishings: plus carpets, soft beds, gave the place a warm and homey feel. A refuge after adventuring out in the cold Scottish rain.
The listing is located in a great spot. The village is easy to get to by train from Edinburgh with good connections to Dundee and St Andrews by bus. The cottage is in the heart of Leuchars within a 5 minute walk to everything.
John was a great host, easy to find when we had questions and going out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed during our stay. We will definitely stay here again during our next trip to Fife.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The homey feel
Liked least: That I didn't rent a car while staying here
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2015
Thank you for the lovely review Ian. Ruby and I are so pleased you and the family enjoyed your stay in the cottage. Next time you visit the Kingdom of Fife from the USA you will all be more than welcome.

John &Ruby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin B
Leven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect Week”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

"We have just returned from a fabulous week's holiday at The Steadings and can not recommend this property highly enough. From the moment we walked in and with all the little extras it was perfect. As a family we enjoyed a fantastic property to stay in with a brilliant location. Warm, cosy, extremely comfortable & clean, lovely private garden all in all just an idilic cottage to relax and enjoy time with your loved ones. John and Ruby very helpful with anything we needed.”

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thanks for the Great review Colin,
Glad you and the family enjoyed your stay in the cottage so much. Ruby and I work hard to make sure everything is as pleasant for our guests as possible and do love to be rewarded with reviews like yours.

More than welcome to visit with us again.

Many Thanks

John & Ruby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zai_onlin...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

In a perfect situation this idilic Cottage is close to St Andrews and within 15 minutes of Dundee, a perfect location for exploring the area. The cottage was first rate, immaculately clean, extremely comfortable, equipped with everything we could need and very tastefully appointed. Did I mention the beds? Ahhh perfect! John the owner was very friendly and helpful. There was a great welcome pack waiting for us, wine, a daily newspaper, chew sticks for our dogs Tilly and Paddy and sweets for our girls were some of the nicer touches. The bonus for the kids was the free WiFi and a TV each. The walled garden was ideal for our dogs and eating out in the gazebo just lovely. We have been using holiday cottages for 22 years and this is one, if not the best, we have stayed in. I would highly recommend it to anyone and don’t think anyone could be disappointed. We have booked for next summer already as it looks very popular.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Thanks for the lovely review Zai. Glad that you all enjoyed the cottage and garden so much. I note that you have booked for next year already so looking forward to welcoming in the Summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing