We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect bolt-hole”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Shieling

welcome to The Shieling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
welcome to The Shieling
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
welcome to The Shieling
Towards St Andrews
Towards Carnoustie
Family shower room with 1400 x 900 shower
Twin room
Master bedroom
En-suite bathroom
En-suite bathroom
From rear lawn
Patio/BBQ area with fireplace
Play field with shelter
Stunning views
Evening view to St Andrews
Kissing gate
Visiting Pheasant family
Red squirrel lunching on the patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Gilarm1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect bolt-hole”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

A stunning location, set up on a hillside overlooking St. Andrews, the property is impeccable with a fantastic open plan living, dining and kitchen area. The log fire was wonderful especially in January. The views are stunning and the location is great assuming you have a car to get to and from St. Andrews (10-15mins drive). We had an amazing break here, helped by a very warm welcome and the property being spic and span!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VoyagerAn...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect cosy luxury”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We loved our holiday at the Shieling. Lovely and warm, didn't even need to light the wood burner. It felt quite special being up in the hill, cosy under the turf roof, watching the distant lights twinkling. We didn't want for anything - but seeing a red squirrel (outside!) was a definite bonus. We are looking forward to returning.
Andy and Judith

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelynarr...
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 24 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Great house - warm and comfortable, well finished and good layout. Views are to die for. Definitely need a car as although not far from Guardbridge and St Andrews, the house is high up a hill and access is via single track road.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommira17
Morpeth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing house with excellent views of the coast line and St Andrew's”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Excellent property ,spacious with all you need for a self catering holiday . We enjoyed the views from the house - the beatiful coastline and all the near by villages and St Andrew. Lovely garden and enjoyed BBQ . Such a relaxing place to come back after a day out - we looked forward to coming back to the house after being out and about all day . Lovely area,stunning beaches , fab ice cream shop in st Andrews which the kids loved !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLS-33
Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastical holiday home, private, great location with spectacular views and the perfect hosts”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Sheilding was the perfect place to stay for my one week golfing trip to St. Andrews. I prefer to sleep in the absolute peace and quiet of the country side and the location was perfect being only a 15 minute drive into the heart of St. Andrews.

From the moment I arrived I was warmly greeted by the owners (Bob & Moira) and it soon became obvious that they had put an incredible amount of thought and care into every aspect of this home and the surrounding property.

The views were incredible, stretching from the town of St. Andrews all the way to Carnoustie bay. It was easy to find and has all of the modern creature comforts that you would want. You get the privacy without the drawbacks of being too remote or too isolated and the views are a constant remind of what a wonderful part of the world this is.

It's rare to find such care and quality in a holiday letting.

Thank you for a wonderful stay, if I'm ever in St. Andrews again this is the place that I would stay.

We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, peace & quiet with all the mod-cons.
Liked least: I could not stay longer!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing