We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Shieling

welcome to The Shieling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
welcome to The Shieling
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
welcome to The Shieling
Towards St Andrews
Towards Carnoustie
Family shower room with 1400 x 900 shower
Twin room
Master bedroom
En-suite bathroom
En-suite bathroom
From rear lawn
Patio/BBQ area with fireplace
Play field with shelter
Stunning views
Evening view to St Andrews
Kissing gate
Visiting Pheasant family
Red squirrel lunching on the patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Kirsten S
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful place ”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at this property for three nights. Although I had seen the pictures on the internet I was still surprised at how lovely this house was. Inside there is everything you need including dish washer and washing machine. The log burner in the living room was amazing and made the evening so cosy. The kids loved toasting marshmallows in the chimnea outside.
The owners had even set up a toddler bed for our son. Free wi fi kept our teenager happy!
Would recommend this property to anyone. Great to be in the country and get peace and quiet yet still near enough to the various towns and villages.
Would definitely return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sh35109
Chelmsford, Essex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic rental!”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our stay at The Shieling was wonderful. The house was beautiful - exactly as advertised and shown in photo's. It was wonderfully clean, and the beds very comfortable. The view was totally amazing. The house was well-equipped with everything you would need. We loved exploring the surrounding areas and it was great to come home each time to the peace and tranquillity of this wonderful home. Moira was very friendly and easy to deal with and I would not hesitate in recommending this house to a friend. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwitrave...
Oxford, Uk
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous house close to St Andrews”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our stay at the Shieling was too short. It is an up market self-catering house. Moira was kind enough to stock the house with milk, cereal, tea, biscuits and eggs, which was a lovely touch. It is an extremely peaceful property with a wonderful outlook. With a nice outdoor area, double glazing, central heating and a wood burning, this house would suit all seasons. Thank you so much for your hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CC2105
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay at this beautiful property!”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A beautifully presented property in a stunning location overlooking the town of St Andrews. Moira is a lovely host and made us feel very welcome. Will definitely be rebooking again for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of property and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian K
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best holiday ever”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at the Shieling with our 7 year old daughter and had the most wonderful holiday. The accommodation was first class and the views across towards St Andrews were just amazing - we didn't want to leave! The Shieling was within easy reach of everything we did - 10 mins from Dundee, St Andrews and Cupar. Our daughter loved exploring the space outside the house and there was plenty of room to play tennis, frizby and football. Moira was a great host - always on hand if we needed anything but never intrusive. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing