We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation in the heart of St Andrews”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
North Star Apartment - Heart of St Andrews apartments
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
North Star Apartment - Heart of St Andrews apartments
Front door
solid oak flooring throughout
family bathroom
family bathroom with heated de-misting mirror
En suite shower room (double bedroom)
Garden furniture for al fresco dining and drinks
Just a short stroll to the Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
trishbrom...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation in the heart of St Andrews”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage was everything and more than what we expected. We arrived greeted with home made chocolate cake, wine, tea and coffee. The location was central for the golf courses and also the harbour and beach which was ideal as we played golf and had the experience and adventure of walking some amazing coastal walks with our family puppy Teddy. The cottage layout and quality of the rooms are of the highest standards with a fantastic rear garden with beautiful seating area and bbq. We really had an amazing holiday totally relaxed and would recommend the cottage due to its total luxury and location. An absolute "treasure find cottage" and we have already booked up for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standards of the cottage and location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I look forward to welcoming you back next year! Kind regards, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mclennan5...
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful stay at high standard accommodation!”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful stay in North Star and the accommodation is stunning and incredibly well thought out. We felt very relaxed and at home thanks to the owner’s obvious attention to every tiny detail. The personal touches including flowers, cake, essentials and wine were lovely, and added to that feeling that we had arrived at 'somewhere extra special'. Although we were not as lucky with the weather as we have been in previous years spent in St Andrews, the high standard of the apartment made staying in pleasurable and many a board game contest was had thanks to how well-resourced it is! The location of North Star right in the town also allowed us to have a much more relaxed holiday as everything we love about St Andrews was right on the doorstep (Jannetta's being the children's favourite)! We worried it could be noisy but this proved not to be the case. Parking was also not an issue as we rarely used the car and free spaces were always plentiful after 4pm. This is our third vacation in St Andrews but our first at North Star, and this one was by far our best thanks to the beautiful accommodation and obvious insight into what high quality self-catering should be. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail and beautiful interiors.
Liked least: Loved it all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Thank you for this lovely review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the apartment. I hope to be able to host you again in the future. Kind regards, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment in a great location”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at this fantastic apartment at half term week. Myself, husband, teenage son and our King Charles cavalier dog. It is a beautiful, modern apartment with Sky TV and lots of lovely touches such as wine, flowers and cake to greet us on our arrival and also milk ,bread, coffee etc left for us after our long journey. The apartment has a lovely small rear garden which was brilliant for our dog. It's location is perfect for everything in St Andrews. The shops and restaurants were literally around the corner and the beach/ Old Course golf was a pleasant 10 minute walk. Free parking outside the apartment was great and of course the beautiful old buildings of St Andrews university are all around you. A fantastic apartment in a lovely historic setting. Will definitely be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment location and cleanliness
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2016
Thank you very much for your review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the apartment. I hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable relaxing stay in lovely house”
Reviewed 20 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a 3 day break at this property in November 2015 and were joined by our 3 children for one night. We were welcomed to the property with wine and a cake.
The house was lovely, warm, fresh and modern with very comfortable beds and kitchen/lounge area. We were out and about alot and found the central location very handy. The bedrooms are on the ground level of the property with the kitchen/ lounge area upstairs and this was a slight problem for us as we had our lovely labrador dog with us and she refused to move from the hall area upstairs. I think she found the wooden floors too slippy to risk moving upstairs.
I would recommend this property to others.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bright , modern house in central location
Liked least: The stair was too slippery for my dog to be confident of going upstairs so she had to be left away from us in the hall area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review, Sheena. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne...
Augusta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location with Wonderful Hospitality”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I was fortunate to rent North Star for The Open Championship. There were six adults in my group. I consider Shona my host as she was extremely hospitable. Two minor issues arose which Shona addressed immediately. The patio and back yard were wonderful to have when the weather was suitable. Shona spoiled us with coffee and goodies on our arrival. I look forward to staying at North Star again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Not having to worry about a key to open the door since we were a group of six.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing