We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
In private secluded walled garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In private secluded walled garden
Decking Lunch
Relax in the secret garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
In private secluded walled garden
Decking Lunch
Relax in the secret garden
Blue sky dreaming
enjoy the view from the lounge
Glass walled lounge
TV only if you get bored
Modern Kitchen and dining area
En-suite Wetroom in each bedroom
Utility Room
A famous place - Swilken Bridge
People have been coming here for a long time
Ancient History - St Andrews Castle 400m
Whins - bright yellow colours
St Andrews Cathedral - just walk to the end of the street
Sunset from garden
Play or spectate it is only 200m away
Some visitors are free of charge
Coming by helicopter land here
West Sands only a few 100m away
East Sands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Verona8
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb Cottage”
Reviewed 15 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The location of Whins Cottage is perfect. We have stayed here on numerous occasions and can't fault it. The cottage is maintained to a consistently high standard and also features a lovely secluded garden with decking which is ideal for sitting out on a warm day. Ian and Sheila are great hosts and make you feel very welcome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2018
Thank you for this positive and thoughtful review.
We find you the perfect guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda s
1 review
“Whins cottage”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Had a great time at the whins.done to a very high spec very quiet &peacfull.would go back recommend this to anyone who wants peace &quiet,plus everything from shops to nice walks along the east&west sands at St Andrews

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2018
Colin & Linda

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review.

Best wishes

Sheila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidFilb...
Leawood, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dream Location”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

For a golfer, this was a perfect location. For a non-golfer, it might be just as good. The only thing that might be nicer would be the landlords. Exit the gate of the property and take a short walk in the Gillespie Wynd. You'll quickly pop out on The Scores where you are simultaneously looking at the St Andrews Aquarium, The British Open Golf Museum, the Beach you'll recognize from Chariots of Fire, and the 1st and 18th fairways of the Old Course. Continue downhill along The Scores, cross the street, and you're standing behind the 1st tee.

For golf on any of the other five Links Trust course adjacent to the Old Course, just use the free shuttle bus. You can pick it up right behind the R&A Clubhouse, on the museum side of the street. Nothing could be more convenient.

Take the Gillespie Wynd in the other direction and you pop out on North Street. From there it's a short walk to take your pick of restaurants, a Tesco Store, and general shopping. We stayed for three weeks and did not have a car. The only things we needed a taxi for were golf at Scotscraig, Crail, and The Castle Course. Most of our rounds were on the five Links Trust courses. While it has nothing to do with the property, having failed in the lottery, we had to contract with the Old Course Experience to play the Old Course. That included other golf, such as Kingsbarns and Carnoustie, and that transportation was included. Otherwise, we were just fine with walking to everything, including the practice facility on Sundays when the shuttle (and the Old Course) are shut down.

We ate one meal out each day, but otherwise it was simple to stock up at Tesco, fix your own breakfast, eat at where we typically played (Eden Clubhouse, Links Clubhouse, Crail, Scotscraig, etc) or at one of the nearby restaurants, and then maybe fix a snack out of our frig later, and get ready for golf again the next day. Washer and dryer are within the apartment, so you don't have to pack many cloths. However, we did need to buy a small piece of luggage to hold all the clothing and souvenirs we bought.

The property was in perfect condition and very clean. Sheila and Ian were two of the nicest people we've met. It was like staying at a friends house. We can't think of a better compliment or of more gracious hosts.

This was absolutely one of best trips we have taken. Ok, it was the best trip ever. Anyway, The Whins Cottage played a big part in making the trip so satisfying, and we would not want stay anywhere else on a return visit to St Andrews.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to give such a positive review, it is much appreciated.
We are glad your visit to St Andrews at The Whins Cottage was so memorable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jarydzel
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful apt in St A”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My wife and I spent 2 wks in July in Whins. Could not have been better. Sheila and Ian are wonderful hosts. Location is first rate--close to golf and restaurants and Town Center St. A. Apt is well designed, spacious, clean, comfortable and well-stocked. Figure out a way to keep the gulls away and perfection follows. Would be delighted to return.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
I am pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at The Whins Cottage.
It was a pleasure to meet you.
Many thanks for the thoughtful and kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliem170...
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Myself, my husband and son absolutely love the whins! lovely friendly hosts and absolutely immaculate house. right in the heart of st andrews and near both the beach and the old course! we have been here a couple of times now and fully intend to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
I am very pleased you had another great holiday. Many thanks for your kind review it is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing