We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Half term break”
other travellers have booked this property
Newly built in 2008 by the present owners, Bag End is a quite unique.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newly built in 2008 by the present owners, Bag End is a quite unique.
Enjoy the garden patio, dining area, BBQ and even the giant chess set. All with country views Bag End's oak kitchen is a pleasure to use, with access to the garden and outdoor dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
110 reviews
Newly built in 2008 by the present owners, Bag End is a quite unique.
Enjoy the garden patio, dining area, BBQ and even the giant chess set. All with country views
Bag End's oak kitchen is a pleasure to use, with access to the garden and outdoor dining area.
The kitchen is superbly fitted with Neff and Bosh appliances and is equipped to a high standard
Bright and sunny for breakfast, stylish and intimate for dinner. An enjoyable holiday luxury.
Handmade by a local craftsman, Bag End's solid Cherrywood staircase curves beautifully.
The best room in the house; have a quick power shower or relax in the beautiful roll top bath.
Enjoy the extra downstairs WC with a large wash bowl, toilet, shaver point and heated mirror.
Lovely wide hallways and displays of vintage 20th Century ceramics add a little quirky style.
King-size master bedroom with dimmable lights, Freeview Television, DVD & black out blinds.
Family room with double bed, single bed, Freeview Tv, dimmable lights and open country views.
Lovey double room with Freeview TV, dimmable lights, blackout blinds and open country views
Even in winter the view from the front door is a delight. Scottish village life at its best.
A little garden detail. Summer brings colour, and light to the lush Fife countryside.
Falkland Palace, Home to Ancient Scottish Kings. Nine miles from Bag End
The Royal and Ancient Golf Club, St Andrews. 9 miles from Bag End
St Andrews cathedral. Nine miles from Bag End
One of the beautifull fishing village on the East Neuk of Fife. 17 Miles from Bag End
Fife Folk Museum, Ceres. 1 Mile from Bag End
Edinburgh Castle. Just an hours drive or a short train journey straight into the the city centre.
One of the rare breed Ryland sheep which habit our large field at the back of the property. They love a little bread...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 110 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Suzylouwi...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Half term break”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We booked a month ago, it was reasonably priced because Scottish half term was different to ours. Beautiful cottage, clean, well equipped and friendly owner who lives next door but is not in your face and interfering, although he was very helpful when we asked for some assistance with something. There were 7 in our party, a mix of older people, middle aged, and young children. There is a great play area with the cottage which the kids loved. On the wet day we went to Dundee to the swimming pool which was amazing with flumes etc. We had a lovely walk in the hills and we visited St Andrews. We will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12MrsJRT
Houston, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the best we've visited”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We were a party of 5 age range from 13 to 80 and this property impressed every one of us! From the beautiful location to facilities inside - everything was perfect.
Owner Mark was so helpful, meeting us on arrival and again on departure, it was much appreciated and gave the personal touch.
The house was spotless and not just well-equipped - fully equipped! Excellent quality furnishings, comfortable beds and lots of room. Can't praise it highly enough, thank you Mark!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire experience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail W
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Home from home with better views”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This was a fabulous home from home - spacious clean very well equipped wonderful sleeping areas and great bathroom - as a group of seven adults managed well we did not have a problem with only one bathroom - there was a cloakroom downstairs with a washbasin too - and we never ran out of hot water despite everyone showering! the kitchen was great with more than enough cutlery crockery glasswear and cooking utensils. A great dining room doubled as a family games room for the inevitable family board games and card games! The owners collections of art, ceramics etc really added to the appeal of the house too. I really cant find a fault - well if there was a village pub that would be the real icing on the cake!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2016
Thank you for the lovely comments, we are really happy you had a fab time and its great that you enjoyed the little extras that we try to provide.

As you mention and also ironically, Chance Inn (the name of the village) does not sadly have a village pub, but the Kingarroch Inn is just a 10 minute walk in nearby Craigrothie which serves amazing food in a beautiful rural location so you must try them if you come back again. Thank you, Mark.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katymorag...
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here in May with another couple and our two 11 year old daughters. Fabulous house, 3 bedrooms, immaculately clean and kitchen has everything you could want. Big garden area for kids to run around. Mark the owner is great and really helpful. We didn't know the area very well and could have spent much longer here, just exploring the coast and surrounding beautiful countryside. Its really peaceful where the house is but not far from St Andrews which is worth a visit. Spent 3 very relaxing days here in a lovely warm house, enjoyed it very much thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design of house, great kitchen.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
So pleased you were comfortable, warm and happy. At the end of the day, that is what we aim for and we are very happy your family had such a good time. Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
321yvonne
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect break in a lovely cottage”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Hadn't visited for a few years but weren't disappointed on our return visit. A perfect holiday home, equipped with all of your home comforts and more. Lovely outside area for kids which I am sure we would have used more had we stayed for longer.

Would highly recommend as a great place to stay and perfect for families with children of all ages.

Hope to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Its lovely when guests return and enjoy themselves second, third or even tenth time round. We look forward to seeeing you again in the future :-) Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing