We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really lovely place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Newly built in 2008 by the present owners, Bag End is a quite unique.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newly built in 2008 by the present owners, Bag End is a quite unique.
Enjoy the garden patio, dining area, BBQ and even the giant chess set. All with country views Bag End's oak kitchen is a pleasure to use, with access to the garden and outdoor dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
Newly built in 2008 by the present owners, Bag End is a quite unique.
Enjoy the garden patio, dining area, BBQ and even the giant chess set. All with country views
Bag End's oak kitchen is a pleasure to use, with access to the garden and outdoor dining area.
The kitchen is superbly fitted with Neff and Bosh appliances and is equipped to a high standard
Bright and sunny for breakfast, stylish and intimate for dinner. An enjoyable holiday luxury.
Handmade by a local craftsman, Bag End's solid Cherrywood staircase curves beautifully.
The best room in the house; have a quick power shower or relax in the beautiful roll top bath.
Enjoy the extra downstairs WC with a large wash bowl, toilet, shaver point and heated mirror.
Lovely wide hallways and displays of vintage 20th Century ceramics add a little quirky style.
King-size master bedroom with dimmable lights, Freeview Television, DVD & black out blinds.
Family room with double bed, single bed, Freeview Tv, dimmable lights and open country views.
Lovey double room with Freeview TV, dimmable lights, blackout blinds and open country views
Even in winter the view from the front door is a delight. Scottish village life at its best.
A little garden detail. Summer brings colour, and light to the lush Fife countryside.
Falkland Palace, Home to Ancient Scottish Kings. Nine miles from Bag End
The Royal and Ancient Golf Club, St Andrews. 9 miles from Bag End
St Andrews cathedral. Nine miles from Bag End
One of the beautifull fishing village on the East Neuk of Fife. 17 Miles from Bag End
Fife Folk Museum, Ceres. 1 Mile from Bag End
Edinburgh Castle. Just an hours drive or a short train journey straight into the the city centre.
One of the rare breed Ryland sheep which habit our large field at the back of the property. They love a little bread...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
katymorag...
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here in May with another couple and our two 11 year old daughters. Fabulous house, 3 bedrooms, immaculately clean and kitchen has everything you could want. Big garden area for kids to run around. Mark the owner is great and really helpful. We didn't know the area very well and could have spent much longer here, just exploring the coast and surrounding beautiful countryside. Its really peaceful where the house is but not far from St Andrews which is worth a visit. Spent 3 very relaxing days here in a lovely warm house, enjoyed it very much thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design of house, great kitchen.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
So pleased you were comfortable, warm and happy. At the end of the day, that is what we aim for and we are very happy your family had such a good time. Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
321yvonne
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect break in a lovely cottage”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Hadn't visited for a few years but weren't disappointed on our return visit. A perfect holiday home, equipped with all of your home comforts and more. Lovely outside area for kids which I am sure we would have used more had we stayed for longer.

Would highly recommend as a great place to stay and perfect for families with children of all ages.

Hope to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Its lovely when guests return and enjoy themselves second, third or even tenth time round. We look forward to seeeing you again in the future :-) Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis Y
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage, excellently equippped”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were a party of six (four adults and one teenager) and stayed at Bag End for four days. The accommodation was more than adequate and the quality of the furnishings and fittings was far superior to what would normally be expected in a holiday let. We were provided with clear and easy instructions as to how to find the cottage, even though it is in a fairly remote location and travel by road to the surrounding areas of Fife was straightforward. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners and absolutely everything we needed was provided in the cottage. We are hoping to stay at Bag End again in the future and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting East Fife.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and high standard of the Cottage and facilities
Liked least: One main bathroom with additional toilet downstairs but no second shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
We are very pleased your stay proved so positive and thank you for commenting on the interiors. We put a lot of effort to make sure people dont have to turn up with things and can just enjoy their holiday. Even though we are mainly set up for six, its also great that you were comfortable with seven guests. I look forward very much to seeing you all again at some point in the future. Thanks, Mark.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elspeth19...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful cottage which was equipped to the highest of standards.”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a wonderful break at Bag End Cottage. The owner Mark was extremely friendly and helpful in giving us tips on where to visit and where was suitable for my 3 young children. The cottage was equipped with everything you could possibly need and was lovely and clean, with very comfortable beds. We will definitely return to Bag End cottage in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locations was a fantastic base for exploring the surrounding areasof St Andrews and Fife
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
We are so pleased that you and the children had a good time and we very much look forward to seeing you again at any time in the future. Thank you, Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4DTravell...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Bag End Cottage is a beautiful place to stay. It is exceptionally well appointed and finished to a very high standard. It is very light and spacious. Every thing you would need during a self-catering stay is there, from plenty of cooking utensils/equipment to games galore to entertain in the evenings. The garden area was great with activities to entertain the children and relaxing areas for the rest of us. We thoroughly enjoyed playing chess outdoors when the sun shone! We had a wonderful stay here. The owner was very welcoming and helpful. It is well located for all the surrounding coastal villages and St Andrews. Cupar is only 3 miles away where you can find good supermarkets and take-aways. I would definitely recommend staying at Bag End Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well appointed the house and garden were.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;